Free Rein

The older, sadder and more worried about the state of humanity I get, the more open I become to the safest type of tv. I may be mesmerised by The Handmaid’s Tale and counting the days till the return of Game of Thrones (7 to go!) but, at the other end of the spectrum, I also have a mortifying weakness for Movies 24/Hallmark romances (Summer Villa, you guys. Just try it), an odd but irresistible love for The Good Witch and, as I’ve learned over the past few days, a mild but genuine interest in Netflix’s new kids tv show Free Rein.

A twee, well-meaning, super-cliched but perfectly pleasant tween drama about an American teenage girl who spends an idyllic summer in the English countryside discovering a natural talent for riding, making new friends at the stables, and bonding with a horse no one but her can control – this is the kind of thing I was too cool for when I was 12, but now I’m all: “Oh, another 25 minute-episode of low-stakes shenanigans about family secrets, mean girl riders, and outwitting horse thieves? Don’t mind if I do!” Which is not to say I’d be signing up for a second season – it’s very much the modern version of those pony stories that horse-minded little girls used to read decades ago, and I am actually a full-blown adult who has never had any interest in horses at all – but I just finished episode five of ten and, dammit, I want to know who the horse thieves are, and why Zoe’s mum won’t let her ride, and whether Zoe herself will follow tv tradition and pick angry, moody Pin over smiley, handsome Marcus. Adult or not, I guess some things never change.

2 thoughts on “Free Rein

  1. Snoskred July 10, 2017 / 1:00 am

    Strange that you should mention this right now. I saw the trailer for “Before I Fall” a while back and added it to my list of movies I wanted to see just based on the groundhog day aspect of it.. last weekend The Other Half had to work on Saturday and I had those little socks filled with the weird Korean mixture that makes your foot skin peel off which have to stay on for 90 minutes. So the time was perfect. I watched it and I loved it. But it is 100% a teenager movie. Though probably a much more adult one than the teenager movies I watched as a kid.

    Sometimes content aimed at one section of the audience that you do not happen to be in is just perfect and exactly what you need. πŸ˜‰ I will put this show on my to watch list because I loved those pony stories as a kid.

    • CJ Cregg July 10, 2017 / 10:44 pm

      Absolutely Snoskred – a good teen movie really does hit the spot ☺ Glad it’s not just me! I think Free Rein probably skews a lot younger than Before I Fall and it’s getting a bit annoying now I’ve got to episode, um, 8, but there is certainly a lot of horse/riding action and so if you liked those stories, it’s worth a look πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

