Lethal Weapon s1 ep 15

A few days ago I was quite nice about Bull, which has finished its first season. It’s not my favourite new network show, though, because that, of course, is Lethal Weapon; which, if I’m being honest, is pretty much my favourite anything at the moment. When I reviewed the first episode I admitted to being amazed at how good it was, and week after week I’ve been amazed over and over again.

It’s not difficult to work out why. The script is great: action, laugh-out-loud zingers, real emotion, and an ability to switch mood without feeling too manipulative. Which, in turn, is where the actors comes in. Damon Wayans is a terrific Murtaugh, and he and Keesha Sharp (who was Mrs Johnnie Cochran in The People v. O. J. Simpson: American Crime Story) as Trish, his wife, are a supportive, affectionate, and sexy midlife married couple. Clayne Crawford is occasionally remarkable as the recently-widowed Riggs; capable, particularly in the earlier episodes, of moving me to tears as the depth of his loss was made apparent. And first among equals in the supporting cast is Kevin Rahm as Captain Avery, who I’ll watch with pleasure in anything, and who is really great here: the episode in which Avery’s career was under threat was a season highlight.

And this episode, ‘As Good As It Getz’, might have been one of the best so far. It had The Odd Couple’s Thomas Lennon turning in a dazzling cameo as ambulance-chasing lawyer Leo Getz, suddenly on the wrong side of a drug cartel; and, more significantly, the return of Hilarie Burton as DEA agent Karen Palmer, who has chemistry with Riggs, as all of the other characters have noticed. Which is great news, because the one thing this show has been lacking until now is a proper ship. In fact, just as I was writing down the words “you guys, I am ALREADY shipping them SO HARD” they – in all likelihood – made out in a lift. Squee! I am SO ON BOARD with #Riggsmer, as is everyone else in the show.

It continues to be the case that Lethal Weapon isn’t “great TV”. It isn’t edgy cable fodder with a tortured male antihero, it isn’t a streaming service’s latest “bingeworthy” (oh God oh God how I hate that concept) drama. But this was a seriously brilliant hour of TV. So I don’t just like this show, I like like it. In fact I would happily marry Lethal Weapon, move to the suburbs with it, and bear its children.

2 thoughts on “Lethal Weapon s1 ep 15

  1. Snoskred June 23, 2017 / 1:39 am

    I am so glad, and I thought you would like it . 🙂

    I do beg to differ about great. Because I think what defines great is whether or not we enjoy it, and a lot of us do enjoy this show. 😉 And in this time of peak tv not every male needs to be a tortured antihero and not every robot or woman needs to be oppressed. Sometimes we just need entertainment and some laughs instead of Kevin Spacey and Robin Wright verbally sparring with each other in the White House, not that there is anything wrong with that.

    This show provides entertainment on every level. 🙂

    • Jed Bartlet June 23, 2017 / 11:58 am

      Oh yeah, you said it was good and you were SO RIGHT…

      I should probably clarify what I mean about “great TV”. I don’t disagree with you. I put it in quotes because, over the past few years, this idea has arisen that “great TV” has to be cable or streaming, can’t be on a network, has to involve a tortured male antihero or an oppressed/abused woman, etc. etc. (A lot of this comes from people who, a few years ago, wouldn’t have watched much TV at all.) Network shows which I would argue are indisputably great – The Good Wife and Person of Interest, for example – aren’t allowed into the canon.

      I’d be more than happy to argue that Lethal Weapon is great at what it does.

Leave a Reply

