Public Service Announcement 21 of 2017: Orange Is The New Black, The Americans, Royal Pains, Orphan Black, The Loch

CJ will be along shortly to preview the start of Poldark’s third season. It’s a busy couple of days, in fact, for new and returning TV shows, and here are a few more.

Heavyweights Orange Is The New Black (Netflix, now) and The Americans (ITV Encore, Monday 12 June, 10pm), are both back for fifth seasons. Unfortunately I’ve somewhat lost touch with The Americans, as ITV Encore is one of these platform-specific channels I don’t have access to. Maybe one day I’ll catch up.

We used to be all over Orphan Black (Netflix, tomorrow), and now we… aren’t. No plans to change that, and in any event this is its final season. The charming, low-stakes Royal Pains (Universal, today, 5pm) is also entering its last run. I’m still watching, and I still haven’t met anyone else who does – although there are rumours out there that there may be two of us at least – so as ever I’m grateful to Universal for bringing the show back for me. Although not as grateful as I would be were they to get Private Eyes back on our screens stat. Make it so, Universal.

And in pointless new UK drama news: step forward The Loch (ITV, tomorrow, 9pm), in which an inexperienced detective investigates a murder in a close-knit loch-side community.

6 thoughts on “Public Service Announcement 21 of 2017: Orange Is The New Black, The Americans, Royal Pains, Orphan Black, The Loch

  1. Snoskred June 10, 2017 / 9:39 am

    Well this is quite bizarre because I have already seen The Loch which was known as Loch Ness here in Australia. I liked it. My Mother LOVED it.

    i am secretly a huge Laura Fraser fan – she appeared in Breaking Bad and was fantastic in that which has made me seek her out elsewhere.

    The show was excellent for those of us who love her accent. I mean really, I would watch or even just listen to her just read the phone book, so you have to consider that. The scenery was gorgeous but you also have to consider that I watch reruns of Location Location Location with Kirstie and Phil just to look at the houses and scenery.

    So perhaps the truth is I just love anything set in the UK. 🙂

    • Jed Bartlet June 10, 2017 / 11:49 am

      The unfamiliar is often more attractive – I’m watching the Canadian drama Cardinal. The Loch, on the other hand, is set a couple of hundred miles up the road. Not interested. Maybe I should be…?

  2. CJ Cregg June 12, 2017 / 11:24 pm

    Orphan Black lost me with season 3 tbh. They took the story down a route I didn’t like, spent a lot of time on characters who annoyed me and killed a character I was fond of. Tatiana Maslany is amazing but I lost interest in the show itself.

    • Snoskred June 13, 2017 / 2:12 am

      I just saw Woman in Gold which had Tatiana Maslany as the younger version of Helen Mirren, it was incredible how alike they look. 🙂 I have never seen Orphan Black but her performance here made me seriously consider it. I am neck deep in The Handmaids Tale which frankly is blowing pretty much every tv show out of the water right now. Is there nothing Elisabeth Moss cannot do? 🙂

      • CJ Cregg June 13, 2017 / 8:19 pm

        The Handmaid’s Tale is astonishing. I meant to write a post on it but I didn’t feel like I had the time to explore all the themes I wanted to and do it justice – it’s so magnificent, I’d be writing for days.

        • Snoskred June 14, 2017 / 12:20 am

          I knew it was going to arrive this year so I read the book in preparation and that terrified me, I was not sure I would be able to watch the series and thus it sat on my viewer for a few weeks before I worked up the courage to give it a try.

          I cannot believe how amazing it turned out. I also cannot believe how I feel two ways about Serena Joy. I only felt one way about her in the book so maybe that is purely due to the performance of Yvonne Strahovski.

          There is a lot to unpack with the show but I am so glad I watched it. I think the awards season is going to give all the awards to this show and rightly so. 🙂

Leave a Reply

