Public Service Announcement 13 of 2017: Doctor Who

It’s the holiday weekend and I have chocolate to eat, so just a very quick reminder that BBC stalwart Doctor Who returns to UK screens this evening (7:20 PM on BBC1) with a lot going on: not only do we have Pearl Mackie’s debut as new companion Bill, but it’s also Steven Moffat and Peter Capaldi’s final season as showrunner and eponymous hero, respectively. All three of them will have to get through the run without me, however as, much as I enjoyed the Christmas special, the show in general lost its spark for me some time ago. If you’re still watching, I’d be interested to hear what you think – comments are welcome as always.

13 thoughts on “Public Service Announcement 13 of 2017: Doctor Who

  1. e April 18, 2017 / 3:42 am

    It wasn’t terrible. The underlying story was weak, but isn’t it always? First half of the ep much better than the second. And now I will never wash again.

  2. e April 26, 2017 / 2:32 am

    Episode 2 was terrible. Oh well then.

      • e April 26, 2017 / 8:47 pm

        I only bothered watching this year because both companions really grabbed my interest. It’s the writing, the terrible terrible writing.

  3. e April 30, 2017 / 1:24 am

    Third episode. An especially fevered attempt to be current and relevant.

    Nazis were punched. Whales were saved. Wealth was redistributed. Children were lifted from poverty through the mechanisms of the Doctor’s social justice. The only thing they didn’t hit on was universal health care.

    Should have spent more time entertaining and less time enlightening. Once again, a complete waste of actors. (A non-cursing Capaldi is already working at a disadvantage.)

    • CJ Cregg April 30, 2017 / 1:14 pm

      You know I’m a sucker for Nazi-punching and child-saving 😀 so I have a feeling I might have liked this one, but it’s probably best I don’t try and find out….

      • e April 30, 2017 / 4:06 pm

        If you don’t mind that there wasn’t a single character development moment, you might enjoy. It was basically a laundry list of political commentary. I prefer having a story.

  4. e May 7, 2017 / 12:20 am

    Episode 4: Ridiculously stupid. Bonus, next week is Zombies in Space

  5. e May 14, 2017 / 3:33 am

    Episode 5: A bit better. Yes, yes, the show has given itself entirely over to political commentary (in this case, anticapitalism, the bottom line where “no human life has any value at all”…six months later “Corporate dominance in space is history. And that about wraps it for capitalism”) but I enjoyed it more than the last few eps. I could have done with the “Doctor, I’m sorry I didn’t have faith in your methods” bit from one of the Targeted Victims of the Week, but what can you do in a Doctor Jesus universe.

  6. e May 20, 2017 / 11:50 pm

    Episode 6: I am *so* *over* Doctor Who’s “Get Over Morality Free” cards given to mass murderers. No, that person is *not* *your* *friend*.

    • CJ Cregg May 21, 2017 / 11:51 am

      It’d make for a short series if the Doctor was just sent straight to intergalactic supermax though 😉

      • e May 21, 2017 / 7:56 pm

        Two hearts is the new black

  7. e May 28, 2017 / 5:53 am

    Episode 7. I want to smack every single person in this episode and get them to think about the consequences of their actions. Bill literally swaps the freedom of every person on Earth for the life of the Doctor. I know there will be a deus ex machina to get us out of this (when isn’t there an “out”?).

    Yes, it was more gripping than some earlier eps in this series but only because I could play the game of “who will make the ever more stupid decision next?”

Leave a Reply

