Public Service Announcement 11 of 2017: The Good Fight; The Blacklist: Redemption; Chicago Justice; 13 Reasons Why

Some heavyweights in this PSA. Top of the bill is The Good Fight, the spinoff from Unpopcult favourite The Good Wife, in which it looks as if executive producers Robert and Michelle King have managed to get the band back together minus the lead singer. This time Diane Lockhart (the magnificent Christine Baranski) is the main woman: forced to reconsider retirement plans when she’s defrauded, she finds herself the “diversity hire” at an African-American law firm where Lucca Quinn (the returning Cush Jumbo) also works.

Good Wife Kremlinologists – such as me – will recall the rumours of disharmony on the show towards the end of its run, and wonder whether there’s any significance to the fact that David Lee, Marissa Gold, Elsbeth Tascioni, Kurt McVeigh, and Howard Lyman, as well as Baranski and Jumbo, are all involved in some way, whereas Julianna Margulies is not. On top of that Justin Bartha, Delroy Lindo, and Justified’s Erica Tazel are all on board. The Good Fight was well-received in America, but it’s only available there on a CBS streaming service. So for once UK viewers actually have slightly better access, albeit a little belatedly, to a US show. It’s already been renewed for a second season as well, so there’s no excuse not to dive in. CJ, I think, will be reprising her own role as Unpopcult’s reviewer of the Good Universe (Thursday 30 March, 9pm, More4).

Meantime, The Blacklist has spawned its own spinoff, Redemption, in which Tom Keen’s mother Scottie (Famke Janssen) runs a private black ops organisation. A recurring theme during this season of the parent show has been Tom’s increasing curiosity about his origins, so presumably we’ll get some answers, and some more questions, in standard Blacklist fashion. As I said when this show was first announced, though, I wonder whether its creation is the best move, particularly as Ryan Eggold and the charismatic Edi Gathegi have been diverted to it. On the other hand, it’s only running for eight weeks, and renewal looks unlikely at the moment, so it may be that it’s a problem which will resolve itself. I expect to review the first one at least; and at most, if I’m being honest (tonight, 9pm, Sky 1).

A couple of others: Chicago Justice is the latest in exec producer’s Dick Wolf’s Chicago franchise, with Philip Winchester, Joelle Carter, Jon Seda, and others showing us the ups, downs, ins, outs, and (I’m guessing) ships of the Cook County State’s Attorney’s office. I’m sure it’s fine, and in other circumstances I might even take a look, but the TV’s piling up in great unwatched groaning heaps at the moment (Thursday 30 March, 9pm, Universal).

And on Friday Netflix drops 13 Reasons Why, its adaptation of a YA novel about the story behind a teenage girl’s suicide. The advance critical word is strongly positive.

2 thoughts on “Public Service Announcement 11 of 2017: The Good Fight; The Blacklist: Redemption; Chicago Justice; 13 Reasons Why

  1. Snoskred March 29, 2017 / 10:59 pm

    I’m going to take a look at 13 reasons why. I’ll grab The Good Fight for watching at a later time.

    Some other stuff which I am excited about –

    Big Little Lies is almost finished both here and in the USA – no signs of this coming to you yet? It is brilliant.

    I’m loving season 2 of Billions even more than the first one. 😉

    I am looking forward to The Handmaids Tale – I just read the book and it was so horrifying to me. I think it is a perfect role for Elizabeth Moss and I am never adverse to Joseph Fiennes.

    Looking forward to Bosch and Better Call Saul, I have Feud on the server which I have not begun yet, but I hear it is excellent.

    • CJ Cregg March 30, 2017 / 2:12 pm

      Big Little Lies is a few weeks into its run on Sky Atlantic over here, Snoskred, but I couldn’t face adding anything else to my growing list of tv shows I’ve recorded but haven’t watched so I just let it go by. I still have the entire series of The Kettering Incident, 8 eps of Atlanta, half of Westworld, and a whole bunch of stuff on Netflix waiting forlornly for me. I might have to give up the ghost and do a bit of cathartic deleting soon…

Leave a Reply

