Public Service Announcement 9 of 2017: Shades of Blue, Iron Fist

Time for another quick look at what’s coming up/ just arrived on the small screen, just in case your viewing/recording devices weren’t already begging for mercy.

Jed will be along to talk about the return of The Catch and whatever else takes his fancy in due course, but superheroes are my department, so first up is Netflix’s latest Marvel offering Iron Fist, Mr Fist now having joined fellow New York based-superheroes Daredevil, Jessica Jones and Luke Cage on the streaming service, with a view to all four of them teaming up for The Defenders (their version of The Avengers or The Justice League) in the summer. I’m not even pretending to be excited about this, to be honest; if people are into it, great, but there are so many superhero shows and movies around now that I’m bored with the mere idea of them, and I’m not tuning in unless there’s a particular hook or character I’m interested in. Advance reviews suggest Iron Fist has neither (and is terrible), so I’m not going to bother with it, but if you do, let me know how you get on.

Moving on from superheroes to superhairdos (also my department), then, I’m significantly more interested in the return of NBC’s Shades of Blue, or Detective J-Lo, as it’s known at Unpopcult HQ, which returns to Sky Living for season 2 on Monday (20th) at 10pm. Mid-season, I was ambivalent: as well as J-Lo’s magnificent hair, the show had some excellent performances and some brave, interesting ideas, but nearly all the characters were horrible and watching it could be something of a slog. Things picked up significantly after that, though, getting faster and far more exciting, and while the characters and the things they did didn’t get any nicer, the breakneck, uncompromising plotting made up for it to such an extent that by season’s end, I was right back on board and ready for another round, so I’m in for at least the start of season 2. (It’s worth noting at this point that NBC is already in for season 3.) Regular reviews are unlikely, but if the mood takes my fancy or I finally get round to writing “Stalker and Shades of Blue: A Study of Female Cops On TV and the Appalling Men They Have to Work With,” you’ll read it here first.

One thought on “Public Service Announcement 9 of 2017: Shades of Blue, Iron Fist

  1. Kay20 April 3, 2017 / 2:58 pm

    The first three episodes of Shades of Blue are fast paced like the season ender, but suffer from a complete focus on three people. I never thought I’d say I miss Loman, but I miss Loman. The team dynamic suffers and the show becomes a J Lo slog. I appreciate Harley, but I all ends up being a bit too hectic all of the time. Episode three turns the corner a bit into more plotting which is a welcome reprieve.

Leave a Reply

