Lethal Weapon s1 ep 1

The setup is familiar: LAPD detective Roger Murtaugh (Damon Wayans) returns to work after a near-fatal heart attack, to find himself paired with newly-transferred SEAL-turned-Texas cop Martin Riggs (Clayne Crawford). Riggs’s wife and unborn child died in a car accident, and in consequence Riggs is reckless; he doesn’t care whether he lives or dies, which means that he handles delicate situations, such as hostage negotiations, with an unruly but effective panache.

I wasn’t in the best of moods when I sat down to watch Lethal Weapon, and I was expecting it to get on my last nerve. Instead, though, I was surprised – occasionally verging on amazed – by how much I enjoyed it, and how good it was. Two important qualifications here: firstly, the Case of the Week was perfunctory at best, although in the show’s defence it’s the first episode and a certain amount of time had to be given over to backstory exposition. And, secondly, by “good” I don’t mean good good, in the Mad Men/West Wing/Good Wife sense; this isn’t going to win any critics’ awards. But Wayans and Crawford are attractive and charismatic leads; the always-welcome Kevin Rahm is in there as well, as their boss; the bodycount was reassuringly high; and I was charmed, amused, entertained, and unexpectedly moved. I don’t imagine Unpopcult will feel the need to review this show on a weekly basis, but I expect to keep watching.

5 thoughts on “Lethal Weapon s1 ep 1

  1. Snoskred March 5, 2017 / 12:23 am

    I’m probably 9 episodes ahead of you and the only caveat I will add, sometimes I feel they went a little heavy on the cheese when it comes to the writing. They have not yet skimped on the action factor at all, and that was much appreciated. And I hear that Clayne is doing a lot of his own stunts.

    If you like him in this, and there is any possible way you can catch Rectify, I strongly recommend that show. It has CJ written all over it, also too. 😉

  2. Jed Bartlet March 5, 2017 / 12:37 am

    I was very keen to see Rectify, but it was extremely difficult to see (legitimately) in the UK. And to be honest there’s so much on these days that my appetite is limited for shows I need to go to a lot of trouble to watch.

  3. Kay20 March 5, 2017 / 6:33 am

    Still watching and still enjoying. In the same vein as Hawaii Five-0 and Blue Bloods. Nothing stellar but enables me to just enjoy the hour watching a buddy action comedy. Only complaint I have is about Jordana Brewster’s shrink. She’s a snooze fest compared to everyone else’s fiesta.

  4. CJ Cregg March 19, 2017 / 9:02 pm

    Hm. I don’t think I liked it as much as you guys. It was fine, but I actually found Riggs’s recklessness more infuriating than anything else (no way he wouldn’t have been fired for the bank stunt, no matter what Papi’s job was), and the action scenes were *very* 80s and bombastic, which was great in the days of the films, but kind of old hat now. I found them a bit wearing. (I suddenly feel really OLD.)

    I agree with Kay on the shrink too. Jordana Brewster is becoming the new Mohinder – can someone please give her a role that’s not annoying and dull?

    Having said that, it was a thousand times better than Macgyver, and I agree there was a lot to like. And the scenes that worked *really* worked – I liked the easy, loving relationship between Murtaugh and his wife (although I hated that stupid watch thing) and the fact the show was absolutely clear they were older parents, and I was really moved by the scenes where Riggs was honest and emotional with Murtaugh, most of which seemed to happen at Murtaugh’s front door, but there we go. I still teared up. Snoskred, I totally agree, Clayne Crawford is very talented and I warmed to Riggs a lot more than I would have as a result. I’d love to try Rectify – hopefully it’ll come to Netflix some day!

    PS – another show borrowing the “shoot the hostage” idea from the seminal Speed. Rich Dotcom would be proud 😉

    • Snoskred March 20, 2017 / 5:37 am

      I feel like you and Rectify were made for each other, CJ. I began revisiting it recently. 🙂

Leave a Reply

