This Is Us s1 ep 11

*Spoilers*

Time for our regular mix of the sublime and the infuriating.

The present timeline has Toby (still alive, natch) in hospital proving even more annoying than Toby anywhere else, which is a staggering level of annoying, and why Kate would agree to marry him would be a mystery were it not for the fact she’s pretty annoying too. Everything is going tremendously for Kevin and Sloane, meanwhile, who are just adorable together, and this obviously means that it’s time for Olivia – who is also Toby-levels of annoying – to return with a stupid new haircut and a load of New Age guff, try to ruin everything, and – hurrah! – fail! Except that Kevin then manages to ruin everything accidentally anyway. FFS, Kevin!

Thank goodness then, for Randall and William’s strand of the story, which is both beautiful and devastating and had me crying the tears of all three babies that Rebecca and Jack are back to expecting in the 80s part of the show, that part being very sweet and emotional too, if not making me bawl like Randall and William did. At this point, I’m slightly concerned that This Is Us might actually kill me – all this crying can’t be good for a person – but I love it anyway.

8 thoughts on “This Is Us s1 ep 11

  1. Snoskred February 21, 2017 / 11:55 am

    It would be awesome if those two could just be magically cut out of the show, I agree. I was even more annoyed when I found out that the actor playing Toby actually wears a fat suit. That is actually the point at which I was so annoyed by his character that I just started fast forwarding through his scenes. :/

    • Jed Bartlet February 22, 2017 / 9:00 am

      I’d keep Kate, who is a good actor and whose character has potential. Toby needs to go. I wonder if he’s supposed to be annoying, or if the writers think he’s kind of endearing?

  2. Jed Bartlet February 21, 2017 / 5:53 pm

    I loved this episode, which is surprising because I found quite a lot of it annoying.

    Toby is appalling. But it isn’t just that he’s irritating: he’s persistently and overbearingly irritating, like the drunken boor at a party who you have to tolerate, because you know that if you don’t then – at best – he’ll turn whiny and self-pitying and accuse you of having no sense of humour. I can’t imagine why you’d want to marry him.

    As for Kevin – well, I may be projecting. Putting my cards on the table: were a bookish, nerdy-hot, Jewish American woman totally into me I would, in seconds, be uprooting my life and moving across the Atlantic. I certainly wouldn’t be dating her out of a sense of duty because I secretly preferred the dreadful Olivia and her stupid new hair.

    But everything, past and present, about the Rebecca/Jack/William storyline was just amazing this week, as it always is.

  3. Bill February 25, 2017 / 8:19 pm

    I enjoy these reviews and the comments so much more than the show, which is why I successfully quit. It’s not even worth watching for being so bad it’s good (see Spin for that).

  4. Bill February 26, 2017 / 8:20 pm

    No way, amazing! I wonder if Simon’s driving will still be a part of the storyline?!

    • CJ Cregg February 26, 2017 / 11:01 pm

      We can only hope…..

  5. Kay20 May 1, 2017 / 7:55 pm

    Agree on everything said about Toby. X1000.

    I like Sloane too which is why I was bummed things worked out the way they did. Does Kevin need to be with “hot misunderstood” women? Blegh. I like Hartley a lot so get annoyed when his character does things like this but I think I’m supposed to be annoyed as he learns.

    I don’t mind Kate as much, but her persistence in sticking with the man of awfulness when her dad was so great is a mystery to me. Perhaps the show will explain, but I would like her storyline to be about more than her weight and a man.

Leave a Reply

