Public Service Announcement 4 of 2017: Legion, MacGyver, Roots, The Blacklist, The Moorside, The Good Wife, Brass Eye

In normal circumstances I wouldn’t be going near Legion: superheroes and I don’t get on, comic book adaptations and I don’t get on, so adaptations of comic books about superheroes are not my thing. I’ve tried and failed. And as far as I can tell (I’m not going to pretend that the rest of this sentence means anything to me) Legion is about a Marvel Comics character, David Haller, with psychic abilities, who is connected to the X-Men universe. Couldn’t care less. And yet, and yet… it’s created by Noah Hawley, the writer of the TV version of Fargo, which I regard as pretty much the best show of the last five years or so. Hawley also writes the first two episodes of Legion, by which time I should be able to decide if I’m all in or not. It’s starting today in America, but those critics who have already seen it have lavished praise on it. So… ok. Let’s give it a go (Thursday 9 February, 9pm, Fox UK).

Now a couple of remakes. I’ve never seen even a frame of the original of MacGyver, so I have no nostalgic interest in CBS’s reboot, which stars Lucas Till in the title role, and CSI’s George Eads in support. The American critics generally hated it, but the viewers have turned up in sufficient numbers to warrant a back-9 order at least, with renewal for a second season looking like a reasonable bet. In other circumstances I might take a look, but we’re getting hella busy round here (tonight, 8pm, Sky 1). And the History Channel has remade the record-breaking 1977 series Roots, with a fairly spectacular cast and a lot of money. This one the critics loved (tonight, 9pm, BBC 4).

A few more things: The Blacklist is back for the second half of its fourth season, having moved channel; we’ll be doing weekly reviews as before (tonight, 9pm, Sky 1). The remarkable Sheridan Smith stars in ITV’s The Moorside, a drama about the real-life disappearance of Shannon Matthews, which is from most angles one of the most depressing events it’s possible to imagine (Mondays, episode 1 available on catch-up). The Good Wife’s seventh season is now on Netflix in the UK. And the full-on, flat-out genius of Chris Morris is on display in Brass Eye, available on All 4 to stimulate your Shatner’s Bassoon.

5 thoughts on “Public Service Announcement 4 of 2017: Legion, MacGyver, Roots, The Blacklist, The Moorside, The Good Wife, Brass Eye

  1. CJ Cregg February 8, 2017 / 10:38 pm

    Never read the comics but I love the X-Men movies and I loved MacGyver when I was little, so I’m going to try both Legion and the reboot.

    I hope Blacklist gives Ressler and Aram something to do this year beyond bicker with Samar and chase around after Liz.

  2. Bill February 9, 2017 / 12:16 pm

    I love the X-Men movies as well, so I will try Legion, and see where it takes me! MacGyver is not for me.

  3. Snoskred February 9, 2017 / 10:50 pm

    I have been seeing never ending ads for this Legion and it does not appeal to me at all. I am not sure why they would have given Dan Stevens that terrible haircut, either. 🙂 He has such nice hair.

  4. Kay20 February 10, 2017 / 6:05 am

    Macgyver was terrible. I have nostalgia for the first series, but I couldn’t make it through 2 episodes of the remake.

    • CJ Cregg February 11, 2017 / 10:45 pm

      You did better than me, Kay. Review now up….

Leave a Reply

