Timeless s1 ep 6

I discovered last week that The Alamo isn’t my thing. On the other hand: post-WW2 American politics? That is very, very much my jam. So a Watergate-themed episode of Timeless, and specifically one which turns on the 18 minutes excised from President Nixon’s White House tapes, is always going to appeal to me. As it happens, I thought it was the best episode so far.

Flynn and the BTM are in Washington, D.C., in June 1972, on the very day when Nixon recorded the tape which was later “inadvertently” “edited”, with Flynn intending to seize the tape before that can happen. Wyatt, Lucy, and Rufus therefore need to stop him, although were I part of the LTM team my hand would have been in the air at this point asking whether we could, at least, hear what was on the tape first? As it happens Flynn’s a man after my own heart: not only does he capture the three of them to stop them interfering, he’s already got the tape and he plays it. This reveals that Nixon was talking about – oh yes – Rittenhouse, and he also mentions a missing “doc”. Flynn then sends Lucy and Rufus to recover the document, while holding onto Wyatt, threatening to kill him if they’re unsuccessful. And, meantime, Rufus is secretly reporting to someone in 1972, who wants him to “destroy the doc” But it isn’t a document, it’s a doctor, and she’s connected to the Black Liberation Army, which for once means that Lucy feels less comfortable than Rufus.

On top of that there’s stuff about Flynn’s Secret Pain, Wyatt’s Secret Pain, Rufus’s Secret Recordings, and Lucy’s Secret Conversations With Flynn, not to mention her biological father, who is inevitably someone we already know. Plus a splendid Conspiracy Wall. I loved it.

5 thoughts on “Timeless s1 ep 6

  1. CJ Cregg January 23, 2017 / 10:52 pm

    I’m keeping up to date via your reviews rather than actually watching, so I may be way off here, but is that a hint of Wyatt/ Lucy/ Flynn potential love triangle I detect? I can see how girlfriend would have a difficult choice to make there….

  2. Jed Bartlet January 23, 2017 / 10:54 pm

    I don’t… think so? No, the Secret Conversations are about Dr Kovac’s motivation rather than how hot Lucy is. He’s also still mourning his wife. Wyatt is showing signs of moving on.

  3. CJ Cregg January 23, 2017 / 11:04 pm

    Moving on from Lucy? What? NO.

    EDIT: oh wait, from his own dead wife?

  4. Jed Bartlet January 23, 2017 / 11:06 pm

    Yes, from his own dead wife. Dr Kovac is prepared to bring the world to its knees in order to avenge/revive his wife, so I’m guessing there are still issues there and he might not be a good relationship bet. Wyatt, on the other hand, is edging towards “Dead wife? Meh.”

  5. CJ Cregg January 23, 2017 / 11:16 pm

    Slightly worried by the fact that your description of Dr Kovac’s issues is not making him *any* less attractive to me. I may need to go and have a stern word with myself.

Leave a Reply

