Doctor Who: The Return of Doctor Mysterio

imageI’ve not been overly impressed with Doctor Who over the past couple of seasons, so I wasn’t expecting much from this Christmas special. At one point, I wasn’t even expecting to watch it. But tradition won out, and I’m glad it did. There may well be complaints that this wasn’t Christmassy enough (or indeed at all), that it was geared to the US market or that there are far too many superhero stories out there already, but I thought Steven Moffat’s The Return of Doctor Mysterio was great fun. A light, clever, witty homage to comic books and superheroes, complete with spectacle-wearing nerd/ supervigilante, plucky girl reporter and alien brain invasion, this wasn’t reinventing the wheel, but it was smart, fast and funny, zipping along at speed with just a tiny little touch of sadness sprinkled lightly on top. No Santa and no snow, but no matter: I thoroughly enjoyed it.

2 thoughts on “Doctor Who: The Return of Doctor Mysterio

  1. Tim December 27, 2016 / 5:44 pm

    Against all expectations this was rather fun, even if it felt like we were revisiting old territory at times (aliens peeling open their heads again?!?)

    The plot was wafer-thin but the comic book references were fun and the passing references to River Song didn’t become too intrusive. I’m still not at all sure about Matt Lucas’s Nardole but here’s hoping Moffat (and presumably Capaldi) will pull out all the stops for his final year in charge.

    • CJ Cregg December 27, 2016 / 9:51 pm

      I wasn’t sure about Nardole, either, Tim, but he was used so sparingly that he actually worked pretty well this time around, I thought. I wouldn’t want to see him every week though.

      I suppose I shouldn’t have been surprised that River was the great sadness weighing on the Doctor’s mind, but to be honest, when he and NotLoisLane started “talking” about it – sort of, by using Mr Huffle, which I thought was just genius and very, very funny – I actually thought they were talking about Clara. The timeline is completely topsy-turvy in my head.

Leave a Reply

