Public Announcement 35 of 2016: This Is Us

imageUnpopcult loves both a good cry and a heartwarming American ensemble drama. Combine the two and do it well, and you have a show that’s not only right up our street, but smack bang in our front yard, waving and smiling right into our living room windows.

It’s no surprise then, that we’re IMMENSELY excited about NBC’s smash hit new drama/ teardropallooza This Is Us hitting UK screens tomorrow (Tuesday, Channel 4, 9pm). Starring Milo “Peter Petrelli” Ventimiglia, Sterling “Chris Darden” K. Brown, and Mandy “the girl from A Walk to Remember” Moore, it follows a group of people who happen to share a birthday and… I don’t actually know all that much more than that, but I can tell you that Mandy is married to Milo and about to give birth, Sterling has Daddy Issues, and there’s some kind of big twist that I’ve been trying desperately not to stumble on to before it airs over here.

Anyway, with Friday Night Lights long done, Parenthood’s last few seasons M.I.A in the UK, and Nashville being bonkers, we’re long overdue something we can either dab our eyes discreetly at (like Jed) or sob till we’re so dehydrated we need an IV (that would be me), so we’ve stocked up on tissues and we’re READY. Bring on the blubbing; we’ll review as soon as we can.

13 thoughts on “Public Announcement 35 of 2016: This Is Us

  1. Kay20 December 6, 2016 / 1:31 am

    I have cried. Multiple times. It’s in the line of Parenthood, so think you guys will love it.

  2. Bill December 7, 2016 / 1:38 pm

    Well, now that you are comparing it to Friday Night Lights and talking about it being a tearjerker, I think I may have just found a new show to invest in, finally!

  3. Snoskred December 10, 2016 / 9:05 am

    You guys, I have found another show which I think you will absolutely love. It is Lethal Weapon, the TV show. It has Damon Wayans and Clayne Crawford – the latter who has been KILLING it on Rectify and making me absolutely hate but eventually love his flawed character just because he is playing it so beautifully on that show – a show which I am not sure ever made it to the UK but I believe CJ would love it. There is only one episode left of Rectify and it will be deeply missed by me.

    Lethal Weapon has more explosions than one can count, witty and snappy dialogue, and somewhat mixed reactions from the US critics. I’ve seen two episodes and I adore it, and it is pretty rare for me to say that about an action show. Partly that is because I am such a fan of Clayne, but partly it is because it is crystal clear to me these guys are having a great time making the show. It has Kevin Rahm, as well, which was quite happy making. Yet another show which the other half and I can watch together, too!

    • Jed Bartlet December 10, 2016 / 6:47 pm

      Lethal Weapon has a UK broadcaster, Snoskred: we’re just waiting for a start date.

      • Kay20 December 10, 2016 / 7:07 pm

        I didn’t expect to like it, but I also am enjoying Lethal Weapon. The partnership between the two leads is great. Reminiscent of 5-0. So far that, Timeless, This Is Us, and Pitch (which I am obsessed with) are my favorites of the new season.

        The Macgyver reboot by the way is god awful. Made it two eps and passed.

        CJ – you would love the romance on Pitch. It is squee worthy. In fact, if you have time: https://youtu.be/rY1cW175bZI

        • e December 11, 2016 / 7:33 pm

          I loved Pitch and I loved that ship, regardless if it ends up being love or friendship. Any chance it would be renewed?

          • Kay20 December 11, 2016 / 10:20 pm

            Right, E? You should watch that video too. 🙂

            Agreed on their relationship – the main characters have such chemistry!

            Dicey on renewal, I’m praying yes!

            • CJ Cregg December 11, 2016 / 11:23 pm

              I couldn’t get the video to work, Kay 😦 I think maybe because I’m in the UK. But I did find another couple of videos about this ship and I am SO ON BOARD 😆 I hope we get Pitch soon.

      • e December 11, 2016 / 7:34 pm

        I thought I was going to love Lethal Weapon based on the first few eps, then I found myself recording the show and never watching it.

Leave a Reply

