Arrival (2016)

Wow.

Denis Villeneuve’s beautiful, spellbinding Arrival, about a linguistics professor trying to find a way to communicate with aliens who are hovering above earth and scaring everybody senseless, is film-making at close to its best. It’s not only a gorgeous, deeply intelligent piece of sci-fi, but also a haunting, melancholy human drama about connection and choices, with a soundtrack that seeps into your bones and a mesmerising, astonishing central performance from the incomparable Amy Adams. I loved it.

2 thoughts on “Arrival (2016)

  1. e November 14, 2016 / 10:46 pm

    Read the story, haven’t seen the movie. Now you make me want to. It’s going to be kleenexy, isn’t it?

    • CJ Cregg November 15, 2016 / 9:45 pm

      I found it really moving but I don’t actually remember crying, which is unusual for me, as you know! I do remember being on the edge of my seat a LOT.

Leave a Reply

