Public Service Announcement 26 of 2016: The Fall, Luke Cage

The superb Gillian Anderson returns tonight as DSI Stella Gibson in The Fall, in which serial killer Paul Spector (Jamie Dornan) has so far spent a couple of seasons finding inventive ways to humiliate, terrorise, and kill women. I’m a little wary of saying too much more about that topic, because (a) privilege and (b) I’m well aware that I’m open to unanswerable accusations of hypocrisy: I’ve watched plenty of shows in the past which women are violated in imaginative and gruesome ways, I no doubt will in the future, and in all honesty for as long as that continues to be the stock-in-trade of procedurals I don’t plan to stop any time soon. I’d quite like shows to at least own it, though; and I’m still a little vexed at the furious reaction in America to Stalker – a humble network show, of course – compared to the praise lavished on this and True Detective, which are British and/or cable shows, and therefore classier, even if their sexual politics are utterly reprehensible.

Anyway, The Fall, if it ever did, is definitely no longer getting a free pass, although it might be that with Spector lying in a hospital bed after the events of the final episode of season 2 the show will need to shift focus in any event. Moreover, as that second season was generally regarded – not just on Unpopcult – as falling well short of the first, The Fall has something to prove. Planning to watch; not planning to review (tonight, BBC Two, 9pm).

Netflix’s latest Marvel adaptation, Luke Cage, will be made available tomorrow. Cage was a character in (also Netflix’s) Jessica Jones, which was apparently very good but I didn’t watch it, because I’ve decided that comic book adaptations, like reality TV, might be for a lot of people but they aren’t for me. It follows that I’m unlikely to bother with this show either, although it too is supposed to be good. The USP for Unpopcult is, of course, that Cage is played by Mike Colter, who was the beautiful but unbelievably chilling Lemond Bishop in The Good Wife (all episodes on Netflix, Friday 30 September).

5 thoughts on “Public Service Announcement 26 of 2016: The Fall, Luke Cage

  1. Snoskred September 30, 2016 / 12:48 am

    Thanks to RTE One, I have already seen the first episode! All I will say is, was this The Fall, or 24 hours in Emergency? I was confused on that point.

    At the end of this episode, Stella says some very important things that the world needs to hear. That is my main love about this show, that Stella quite often speaks up on subjects which the world really needs to hear more about. Like that great speech she made about “innocent” victims back in season one.

    Stella Gibson is one of the great characters of all time and I do hope Gillian Anderson is right when she suggests she will be back to play her again in a season 4, albeit with a new case and new goings on. 🙂

    • Jed Bartlet September 30, 2016 / 11:58 pm

      I didn’t think it was great, but the scene you refer to was excellent.

      Almost worth watching, mind you, for Richard Coyle as the doctor. I’m hoping he’ll stick around.

      • Snoskred October 1, 2016 / 1:47 am

        I did not think it was great either. Way too much blood, way too much medical stuff, and on top of that so slow but not in that glacial pace thrilling way, more in a my gosh this is incredibly slow and boring like way. 😉

        Stella was not given enough to do and when your other main character is mute for the entire episode, that is a bit of a big deal. Plus this episode I really missed the professor of Archie Punjabi – I feel like she would have been there at the hospital with them, and then I realised where was she in the final episode last time? He was supposedly taking them to Rose’s body, she would have been there 100% and if she could not be there because it was Rose and too personal, she could have introduced a new medical examiner character to us.

        I know she said somewhere she couldn’t work out her schedule to be in this season but I felt like that was a real loss for the show.

        And I have to say, super annoyed that the nurse who happened to be assigned to the Belfast Strangler coincidentally looked exactly like his victims. That was pretty unbelievable. 🙂

        • Jed Bartlet October 1, 2016 / 7:23 am

          Although it did mean that the moment where he opened his eyes, and the nurse seemed to sense it, was very creepy…

  2. CJ Cregg September 30, 2016 / 7:31 pm

    Jed, I watched the first couple of episodes of Jessica Jones a few weeks ago. I thought it was very well-done and well-acted, but also very depressing and some of it was quite sadistic, although, in fairness, it wasn’t glamourised at all. (I’m told the horrors perpetrated by the main villain get even more disturbing as the series goes on.) While it wasn’t in any way misogynist and it didn’t luxuriate in or linger “artistically” on violence against women like The Fall, I had the same feeling of just not wanting to subject myself to any more horror so I gave up on JJ too.

Leave a Reply

