Public Service Announcement 22 of 2016: Shades of Blue, Containment, Mr. Robot

A few of July’s coming attractions. First up is Shades of Blue, or #DetectiveJLo as we’re calling it, in which Jennifer Lopez plays an NYPD detective who, having been caught up in a FBI anti-corruption initiative, is obliged to become an informant. And she’s a single mother, which I’m guessing will require her to juggle family and career; also, I’m assuming there’ll be a love interest somewhere in the cast. The reviews in America were generally unenthusiastic, but it hooked enough viewers to merit renewal for a second season. And, frankly, at this time of year Unpopcult is in the mood for some inconsequential cop nonsense. We’ll review the first episode, at least, in due course (Wednesday 13 July, Sky Living, 9pm).

Another new show from America, Containment, starts on the same night. It’s a remake of Belgian drama Cordon, in which part of a city is sealed off due to a disease outbreak. The CW has moved the action to Atlanta, home of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), which intrigues me just a little: I’ve become used to CDC operatives turning up in the occasional episode of other shows, and I’d sometimes wondered why it didn’t get a vehicle of its own. However, Containment is another one which the critics haven’t embraced, and this time the viewers aren’t turning up in sufficient numbers to save it. So it’s going to be a one-and-done (Wednesday 13 July, E4, 9pm).

And the second season of Mr. Robot is making its way to British viewers via Amazon Prime, starting 14 July. I reviewed most of the first season, but didn’t quite finish watching it. This may be because I was never quite convinced that it’s as good as people were telling me, or it may be because I’m still not a huge boxset fan. However, the good news is that season 1 is finally going to be on “actual” TV as well, starting on Universal at 9pm on Thursday 21 July. So I might give it another go, even if that will involve a certain amount of rewatching.

A few others: two Unpopcult favourites are going from one season straight into the next. Parks and Recreation’s seventh and final season starts on Sunday 24 July at 11pm on Dave, and although the fifth season of White Collar is available on Netflix and iTunes, it gets its first TV showing on Universal, starting at 8pm on Monday 11 July. Having just watched the fourth season I’d forgotten how much I like this show, although I don’t think CJ is in any danger of forgetting how much she likes Matt Bomer.

And a final roundup: season 2 of Zoo, a show which looks completely bonkers, starts 17 July at 9pm on Sky Living; BBC 1’s starry adaptation (Toby Jones, Vicky McClure, Joseph Gilgun, Ian Hart, Stephen Graham) of Joseph Conrad’s novel The Secret Agent starts at the same time; and Netflix’s 80s-set Winona Ryder-starring Stranger Things, in which a boy vanishes into thin air, drops on 15 July.

7 thoughts on “Public Service Announcement 22 of 2016: Shades of Blue, Containment, Mr. Robot

  1. Kay20 July 14, 2016 / 5:38 am

    I thought Shades of Blue was dark but interesting. I’m halfway through and hanging on.

  2. CJ Cregg July 24, 2016 / 1:07 pm

    Kay, I know what you mean. I have lots to say about Shades of Blue (and J-Lo’s hair!) but am saving it for when we review 😉

    On another note, I’m surprised by how much I like Containment. There are one or two casting decisions I’m not at all keen on, but overall (possibly because it’s a remake of what I’m told was a terrific show) it’s very well done – tense, dark and very, very scary in a completely believable way with a lovely, shippable couple I’m rooting for hard, although they’re no doubt doomed 😦

    I actually quite like the idea of it being a one-and-done as long as they finish the story. If not, I might have to seek out season 2 of the Belgian version to see how it all shakes out.

    Bomer update: I’m just about to embark on s5 of White Collar myself, and am completely smitten. How can anyone *not* be? If I were Sara after those scenes at the top of the Empire State Building…. Well. Job or no job, let’s just say there’s no way I’d be moving an entire ocean away from Neal. I’d struggle to move further than three feet.

    • Jed Bartlet July 24, 2016 / 2:35 pm

      I watched the final episode of season 4 of White Collar last night, as it happens. That fake wedding proposal scene. Gosh. I think I might have edged along the Kinsey scale just a little.

      • CJ Cregg July 24, 2016 / 7:50 pm

        Dude. That scene…. I’ve said it before but I don’t know how anyone on that set gets anything done. I would spend every second staring and blushing. Except after that fake proposal scene. There would be no staring and blushing at that point because I would be too busy fainting and requiring medical attention.

    • Kay20 July 24, 2016 / 6:20 pm

      Surprised you like containment CJ. I made it 20 minutes before I gave up. Have you tried The 100?

      • CJ Cregg July 24, 2016 / 7:53 pm

        I have, Kay but I didn’t like it. Maybe we have to split CW shows between us from now on 😉

        • Kay20 July 25, 2016 / 1:10 am

          Heh. Yes – I still love Jane the Virgin and The Flash. 🙂

Leave a Reply

