Blindspot s1 ep 22

*SPOILERS*

OH. MY. GOD.

It’s the penultimate episode of the season, and everything is going bananas. Yes, even more bananas than usual, and for the reliably crackpot Blindspot, that is an exceptionally high bar, but “If Love a Rebel, Death Will Render” (these convoluted episode titles apparently all mean something but there’s far too much going on already for me to try and find out) clears it with both ease and gusto.

What a ride.

To Jane’s consternation, it begins with Sofia, a hypocrite as well as a liar, in league with the tediously dogmatic Tree Tat Man, insistent that Mayfair’s utter destruction is the only punishment befitting her crimes, but entirely silent on why she herself doesn’t deserve a similar fate. Also a high bar, but I despise Sofia almost as much as I detest Tree Tat Man.

While Jane is not entirely convinced, however, she’s swallowed just enough of the Tree Tat Kool-Aid to keep schtum for the moment, so we jump to two weeks later and – my GOD – a very stressed, soon to be sniper-ed orderly, leaving a hold-all outside a government building. Q: What’s in it? A: A crying, tattooed infant of “unknown identity, unknown origin, she even came out of a bag….”

Now who does that remind you of?

“Whatever happened to Baby Jane?” jokes nobody but me, foregoing the easiest gag on the planet in favour of fretting about new, slimy, shouty boss Dylan Baker, who is clearly all-caps EVIL because a) he is determined to “SHUT DOWN THE JANE DOE PROJECT!” for no reason other than its consistently successful investigation of actual, incredibly serious crime (WTF?) and b) he’s played by Dylan Baker. I mean, he’s unpopcult royalty, but you don’t exactly hire him to play the guest star good guys, do you?

Of course, kicking Jane out of the building doesn’t stop her or anyone else investigating the actual, incredibly serious crimes of running a secret baby-growing farm and killing people who might spill the beans on it, nor should it, but it does mean we get some insanely thrilling scenes where “an unknown woman with black hair and tattoos” – guess who! – tries to stop the baby farmers / baby retrieval squad, before heading back to the baby farm and defibrillating one of the baddies (and herself, almost) to death.

As if the ep isn’t already stuffed with goodies, there’s time in amongst all this action for Weller to try more than a little tenderness too. To my mounting excitement, the passionate “You know how important you are to me” soon gives way to the soulful “Jane, you were never just a case to me,” which in turn builds up to the enthusiastic “Now that we’re not working together, that sorta means I can do this” Jeller snog-athon, because this episode is tremendous and I love it. SQUEEEEE.

No sooner have I started hugging and hi-fiving myself, however, than everything starts to go even more fantastically, magnificently NUTBAR. Mayfair, who has been carrying out her own top-notch investigation with help from the earnest Reade, the annoying Zapata (too little, too late, girlfriend) and the delightfully relaxed super-dog Felix, stumbles upon both Tree Tat’s Lair and the truth, dying at Tree Tat’s hand and cursing Jane all the while. NOOOOOOOOO! But the calamities don’t stop there, nuh-uh; the twistiest twist of all is reserved for poor Kurt’s ears only, as the resurrection of his love life is interrupted by his dying father telling him where Taylor Shaw really is. And that would be walking around with tats on her body and his kiss on her lips, right? Um…. guess again, folks. Guess. Again. This was TERRIFIC.

6 thoughts on “Blindspot s1 ep 22

  1. Capt. Harold Dobey June 5, 2016 / 10:26 pm

    This was bloody brilliant. This show frustrates me so much with is preposterousness.

    This was actually 42 minutes of drama. And how was it not the “season finale?” It could have been.

    • CJ Cregg June 6, 2016 / 11:25 pm

      Capt, you’re right, this could easily have been the season finale, but I’m very glad it wasn’t. I’d have lost my mind if the season had ended on those two cliffhangers and we had to wait months to find out what happened next.

  2. Jed Bartlet June 6, 2016 / 11:29 pm

    Amazing. You aren’t going to go wrong with an episode which has a tattooed baby in a bag, and the final few minutes reminded me of the jaw-dropping mid-season finale. The KISS. The KILLING (?) OF MAYFAIR. The ADMISSION. OMG OMG OMG.

    And Dylan Baker. Delighted to see him. Although I agree – they’ve almost made it too easy for us to conclude that he’s evil, because there is no planet on which shutting down Project Tat makes the remotest sense. I mean, no more than a few weeks ago they tracked down some sarin gas, and that was just one tattoo. They’re getting unprecedented life-saving capability, all for the cost of a few agents, a great big scanning machine, and Patterson. (Of whom there wasn’t enough this week.)

  3. Kay20 August 16, 2016 / 7:38 am

    This episode was quite good, I loved the overall pacing, but there were elements that I didn’t like as much as the rest of you.

    1) First, the Mayfair problem. I sure hope she gets resurrected next week because that was a true bummer.

    2) I can believe Tree Tat Man following Taylor/Jane, but Tree Tat Man following Sofia? Meh. She seems shady as all get out, and I didn’t like that development (I have a soft spot for him I know) because he didn’t appear stupid before now. I know you guys might disagree, but all of his actions so far have been per direction from his fiancee. This was bizarro land.

    3) Kurt as the new director. There aren’t enough eye rolls. The fact that Mayfair basically got no help from him was weird. I know he had other things to do, but Reade as her first stop?

    4) Would it kill Kurt to refer to Jane as something other than her first name like the rest of the crew? I know this is supposed to be romantic, but all it does is annoy me because to me it sounds like favoritism in the workplace. I know it’s weird, it just bugs me. I think it’s because Jane is all bad-ass, and then Kurt rolls in yelling “JANE!” like she’s a damsel. It’s a sore spot for me, and it really, really bugs me.

    4) When did Zapata become super annoying and kinda whiny? She started off great, and right now I’d rather hang out with Reade. (Or Patterson, who I want as a friend in real life).

    5) No sensitive psychologist. Boo.

    I still really enjoy this show. The plotline rolls along, Patterson is amazing as a nerd who does great stuff, and I like the interplay between the characters. I just want less Kurt treating Jane like she’s glass and needs saving every week, and I want the other characters to shine.

    You know what it is – I want this ensemble to be as strong as The Good Wife. And I’m not getting it and it kind of – ARGH. Even at his worst Will Gardner treated Alicia as an equal. And that might be why I like Oscar. He never rolls in yelling “JANE!” at the top of his lungs (in fact, he relies on her).

    Now that I’ve sensitive psychologized myself, I will leave you with my treatise.

    Sorry guys, I’m just not into the main romance on this show, though I really like everything else!

    • CJ Cregg August 22, 2016 / 9:34 pm

      In fairness, though, it’s not just Kurt who does the first-name thing- the whole team calls her “JANE!” I think it’s because shouting “DOE!” would sound a bit ridiculous when it’s not really her name, and would make at least one viewer (ie me) want to shout out “A Deer! A female Deer!” in response 😉

      With you on the awesomeness of Patterson, the loveliness of the sensitive psychologist and the annoyingness of Zapata, but I don’t think we’re ever going to agree on Tree Tat Man, sorry Kay. Team Jeller for me!

      *NB – I originally posted this on the WRONG episode thread, because I’m a numpty*

      • Kay20 August 22, 2016 / 10:10 pm

        As a person with a weird name it wouldn’t bug me. :). But fair point. I still have to watch the finale. Characters have been known to grow on me – we shall see what happens! 🙂

Leave a Reply

