Public Service Announcement 18 of 2016: Locked Up, The Americans, Billions

Spanish prison drama Locked Up (Vis a Vis) is the latest show from Channel 4’s Walter Presents strand, and as it’s made it to the main terrestrial channel it’s one in which Walter and 4 have a fair amount of confidence. It’s set in a women’s prison; they all wear citrus-coloured uniforms (yellow this time); and we’re promised violence, sex, and dark humour. That having been said, we apparently need to be clear that it isn’t, if you will, Naranja is the New Negro. Might be worth a look, though (tonight, 10pm, Channel 4).

One of the current best-show-on-TV contenders, 1980s-set spy drama The Americans, starts its fourth season on UK television this week. Unfortunately, after a couple of seasons on the main ITV channel, it was shifted to Sky-only platform ITV Encore, and it’s still there (Thursday 19 May, 9pm).

And we should, albeit  belatedly, mention Billions, Showtime’s generally well-received financial drama, starring Damian Lewis. It’s showing on Thursdays, and I believe that the whole of the first season is now available through Sky. CJ reckons it’s TV for boys, and I don’t quite have the time, so Unpopcult’s sitting this one out (Sky Atlantic, 9pm).

10 thoughts on “Public Service Announcement 18 of 2016: Locked Up, The Americans, Billions

  1. Snoskred May 18, 2016 / 12:41 am

    I loved Billions. Damien Lewis was incredible as he always is. What I most loved about it was the cast were clearly having so much fun, it really came across loud and clear. I love when actors take what they are given and just shred it up and then set it on fire. 😉

    • CJ Cregg May 18, 2016 / 9:37 pm

      To be honest, my antipathy towards Billions is based entirely on the trailer. It makes it look like a really dated, sexist, view of what “prestige” tv should be. The trailer (and presumably entire show) revolves around two rich, Caucasian, middle-aged men, fighting over money and the only woman I saw in it (I could be wrong) seemed to be some sort of male fantasy dominatrix – albeit all they showed of her was an elegantly-shod dominatrix foot. That’s what I mean by “tv for boys.” It’s probably completely unfair to judge the entire show on the basis of just the trailer – if it’s more diverse and has prominent female characters in it, that’s great – but that’s how they’ve chosen to market it and it’s not only old-fashioned but frustrating in that it makes me feel like this type of show just wandered in from twenty-odd years ago.

      • Snoskred May 19, 2016 / 1:35 am

        Well, they aren’t fighting over money. The character played by Paul Giamatti wants to take Damien’s character down legally. 🙂 Maggie Siff plays the wife of Paul’s character, who also happens to be the in house psychologist at the company Damien runs. I loved her character on the show.

        The thing I think you would love most about the show is the Brian Connerty character who reminded me a lot of Josh Charles.

        I never judge shows on the trailer because the trailers we get here I usually see *after* I have seen the episode and they are always blowing one tiny moment of the show up into a huge deal when having seen the show, that moment was like a nothing moment.

        I remember once a Madam Secretary episode where the trailer claimed one of the daughters went missing, she’d just stepped out of the room momentarily, on the show, and the Mom character asked another character where she was. But when they put their scary music behind it, and interspersed her face with YOU’LL NEVER BELIEVE WHAT HAPPENS NEXT! it almost made me think, did something happen and I missed it? But I saw that episode, nobody disappeared!

        They are trying so hard here now to get people to tune in, and I wonder what people must think when they do and discover they have been totally lied to.

        In essence, I would watch the first episode and see if you want to see more. 🙂 Then again, I don’t have the same radar for this kind of stuff as you do, and you might absolutely hate it when I thought it was awesome, that has happened before. 😉

        • CJ Cregg May 21, 2016 / 10:09 pm

          Heh – that Madam Secretary trailer story is brilliant! Fair point about wildly misleading trailers 🙂

  2. Jed Bartlet May 18, 2016 / 11:37 pm

    I had a similar thought about Limitless, Snoskred. During the last couple of seasons of Dexter, Jennifer Carpenter looked thoroughly miserable (as I suggested in one of my reviews). In Limitless, on the other hand, she perpetually looks as if she’s trying – not always successfully – to suppress a huge grin. It may just be acting, of course, but I agree – it really makes a difference to the feel of a show if you think the actors are enjoying themselves.

  3. Snoskred May 19, 2016 / 2:25 am

    I think almost everyone was thoroughly miserable on the last couple of seasons of Dexter, sadly. 😦 As much as I love MCH, at least some of that has to land on his doorstep, as he was so involved with the show and the writers room etc.

    One of the things I loved about Limitless was seeing her so happy! I really like her. 🙂

    • CJ Cregg May 21, 2016 / 10:12 pm

      Definitely looks interesting. I loved Margin Call, but financial drama isn’t usually my genre and it does tend to be male-led, so it’s good to see a female lead at the centre of it for a change.

  4. Jed Bartlet May 21, 2016 / 2:08 pm

    I’m all about ‘President Jack Bauer and Nikita’ myself, although for some reason it seems to have been called something else.

    • CJ Cregg May 21, 2016 / 10:19 pm

      The new name must just be a typo.

      I’m slightly worried that President Jack Bauer and Nikita don’t seem to share any scenes in that trailer. They had better remedy this in the actual show. I mean, I like Kal Penn fine, but President Jack Bauer and Nikita really NEED to be the ones hanging out together if this is going to be as awesome as I want it to be.

Leave a Reply

