The Good Wife s7 ep 11

Julianna Margulies may have plenty of detractors, but my God, she’s an absolutely outstanding actress.

Her performance this week as Alicia struggles to deal with the voicemail revelation and doubting just about every single life choice she’s ever made is nothing short of incredible: from the violence in her apartment and the disorientation when Jason turns up, to the dark glasses and Jane Eyre on the campaign bus; from the “what ifs” with Ruth to the enigmatic expression on her face in that final scene with Peter – wow. She is fantastic and so is the gorgeous song soundtracking her angst: a perfect combination of majestic acting, magnificent music and years of patient, painstaking character development all coming together to give us some of the best individual minutes of tv work I’ve seen.

All of which means that Alicia’s strand of the story is so compelling and beautifully realised, that we get half an amazing episode this week. The other half: not so much.

I understand the points made about the disproportionate impact the smaller states have on the Presidential campaign because of the way the U.S. system works, and the stupid things candidates can end up doing to pander to people on the campaign trail, but, for the most part, the Full Grassley shenanigans just come across as snarking at the “country folk” of Iowa for the sake of it. And I say that as a lifelong city-dweller. While some of it’s funny, most of it’s snide and it left a slightly unpleasant taste in my mouth. As for the Lockhart Agos Lee / Jackie stuff: passable but nothing special, and Monica is really getting on my nerves. If she could move to, California with Jason, that would really help me out, but I fear we’re stuck with both of them.

4 thoughts on “The Good Wife s7 ep 11

  1. kht April 14, 2016 / 1:51 am

    Hello, and great review! I’ve struggled to find a word for the parts of TGW humor that sometimes rub me the wrong way (especially when I watch an episode closely over and over so I can write a review); I think you hit it on the head with “snide.” That said, 7×11 was an amazing episode for all the reasons you state. Won’t say more since I’ve seen several episodes ahead.

    • CJ Cregg April 14, 2016 / 9:51 pm

      Hi kht – welcome to unpopcult! And thank you for the kind words 😊

  2. Jed Bartlet April 14, 2016 / 5:56 pm

    Think I enjoyed this episode a little more than you. I agree with everything you say about Juli: she looked, convincingly and (in the circumstances) plausibly, almost catatonic with grief. Eli should think himself lucky he escaped with his life. I enjoyed the political part of the ep: I take your point about how the humour was perhaps a little too pointed, but the show mitigated that by having Peter, after all his ridiculous pandering, finishing fourth out of four overall in Iowa. (And I don’t think that the campaigning was that far from the truth at all.)

    And over at Lockhart Agos Lee, I thought – for once – the show got pass marks. I’m not mad about the Monica arc at all, because it seems to me to be rewriting the character of Cary, and because it’s such a contrast with the dazzling way in which the show has handled racial issues before, but at least there was a kind of endgame this week. And while I really don’t care about Howard and Jackie, my guess is that the $2.2m that David Lee had hidden away is a topic we’ll be hearing more about.

    • CJ Cregg April 14, 2016 / 10:01 pm

      Yeah I don’t think that the campaigning was too far from the truth either, but the way they kept saying things like “Iowa is different” and “What do they even do in Iowa?” and whatnot began to get on my nerves and while the Florrick fanatic guy was funny at first, I couldn’t shake the feeling it was all part of a patronising “OMG check out the crazy country bumpkins” narrative. I’ve never even been to Iowa but it still needled me. If it hadn’t been quite so pointed, I would have enjoyed the ep more.

Leave a Reply

