Limitless s1 ep 8

I love Brian Finch.

In this week’s irresistibly entertaining episode, Brian, with a little help from his friends, manages to a) exonerate Naz from treason charges and rescue her from potentially indefinite imprisonment, b) track down a band of pirates on the other side of the world, c) rescue the girl they’ve kidnapped, d) procure the world’s rarest arcade game and e) make me laugh at a whole bunch of thoroughly juvenile but completely hilarious penis jokes.

All of this would be impressive enough but is even more of a delight because Brian’s so charming and sweet and funny and loyal (and did I mention charming?) with it. Not that I’m the only one who’s noticed. Naz and Boyle have both come round, Naz’s daughter Ava is properly smitten (and who can blame her?) and as for Rebecca? Well, if I needed any more incentive to love Limitless, the writers gave me it this week by setting off every shipper alarm at Unpopcult HQ. That ever-so-slightly pointed game of “Screw, Marry or Kill”? Rebecca’s far-from-relaxed reaction to Brian clasping Ava’s hand? And the prospect of a little honest-to-goodness romantic competition? Anchors aweigh, you guys. Or, in unpopcult-speak, squee!

4 thoughts on “Limitless s1 ep 8

  1. Jed Bartlet April 6, 2016 / 12:29 am

    I agree. I’ve totally warmed to Brian – I found him a bit annoying to start with, but I like him now. Loved the episode; cherished Rebecca’s reaction to Brian and Ava’s hand-on-hand action; was a little surprised that everyone was all, “bygones!” (do you see what I did there?) about Naz paying a terrorist off, no matter her reason, but whatevs. I’m not going to let that get in the way.

    • CJ Cregg April 7, 2016 / 11:54 pm

      I suppose Felix wasn’t a terrorist as such, more a fixer/middleman so it wasn’t quite as bad as it might have been.

      On another note, it’s difficult to say this without it sounding like a back-handed compliment, but I really like that Naz and Rebecca (both attractive women in their own right) are styled in a way that they’re tidy and professional and smartly turned-out, but not overly tv glamorous. It always annoyed me no end (and took me out of the story) that Sam and Elena in Without a Trace always had just-stepped-out-of-a-salon hair and perfect make-up and super high-heeled shoes when they were supposed to be at work all hours doing all this running and investigating and high-pressure crime fighting rather than maintaining photo shoot-ready status. How could they possibly have time/money for all those hair and make-up appointments? How could they run in those heels?

  2. e April 6, 2016 / 8:25 pm

    I love this show so much and I’m at a point in watching it where I kind of know a tiny bit too much again to be involved in this convo. So I’ll keep rewatching at UK pace and reading the recaps. I’m dying to discuss why Brian is an amazingly good character but the later episodes just give me too much to work with right now.

    So I’m going to limit(less) this to: “I love Brian Finch” and “I love the recaps”.

    • CJ Cregg April 7, 2016 / 11:31 pm

      I’m looking forward to getting to those later eps! We can have a proper Big Up Brian cheerleading session đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

