Public Service Announcement 12 of 2016: Jane the Virgin, Blue Eyes (Blå ögon), Line of Duty

I called the first season of the wonderful Jane the Virgin “perhaps the most pleasant TV surprise of 2015”, so I’m delighted that season 2 has finally made its way to the UK, and that the show has already been renewed for a third year. We left the show in the middle of a typically absurd (and I mean that in a loving way) cliffhanger – the abduction of Jane’s baby Mateo by international mega-criminal Sin Rostro – although I can’t imagine that will be allowed to stand in the way of the good-natured comedy for too long.

As well as a witty, knowing script, Jane the Virgin has an excellent cast which plays the show’s over-the-top melodrama for all it’s worth, while creating characters worth caring about. They’re all good, although – as we’ve said before – it’s Jaime Camil as the narcissistic-but-lovable Rogelio who steals every scene he’s in. I’ve got too much on to review it from the start of the season, but like last time I might pick it up towards the end (tonight, E4, 7.30pm).

More from Walter Presents later this week, with the first episode of Swedish political drama Blue Eyes (Blå ögon). I think it’s a good thing that we in the UK are getting the opportunity to see more of our continent’s TV. Unfortunately, I’m so busy with the American stuff that I don’t really have time for it, which is undoubtedly my loss (Friday 25 March, More4, 9pm).

And I don’t have time for the British dramas either, such as Line of Duty, back for a third season (Thursday 24 March, BBC Two, 9pm).

Leave a Reply

