The X-Files s10 ep 1

imageYou GUYS.

I really hadn’t intended to write about this beyond yesterday’s PSA but I’m genuinely too excited not to.

Ok, so the dialogue was embarrassingly bad and the story was the kind of deeply silly conspiracy hokum usually written in capital letters and exclamation marks in very dark corners of the Internet, but I genuinely don’t care. All I needed was Mulder and Scully together again and that’s what I got.

The easy, joyful chemistry between them in that scene where they met up again for the first time in so long had me bouncing with delight – gleeful and squeeful in equal measure – and even a script stuck halfway between knowing parody and ridiculous pretension couldn’t change that. I’d have liked this first ep to be better but I really don’t mind that it wasn’t. The X-Files is back and I am ecstatic.

5 thoughts on “The X-Files s10 ep 1

  1. Kay20 February 8, 2016 / 11:20 pm

    Completely agree. I could watch Mulder and Scully read phone books. Based on this, you are going to ADORE episode 3 like I (and everyone else) did. No pressure, but it was classic x-files and even poked fun at itself.

    The next episode is slightly better but episode 3 is where things get going.

    • CJ Cregg February 8, 2016 / 11:28 pm

      OMG Kay, I’m even MORE excited now.

      *resumes squeeing*

    • Traxy October 16, 2016 / 2:57 am

      Ditto! Episode 3 was a true return to form. So glad they decided to include a comedy episode.

      • CJ Cregg October 17, 2016 / 11:10 pm

        Episode 3 was tremendous, wasn’t it? Loved it! I thought things went downhill after that, though 😒 I would watch another season but the later eps of this one were not tremendous….

        • Kay20 October 18, 2016 / 12:50 am

          Agreed!!!!

          I will always be here due to loyalty to X-Files. 🙂

Leave a Reply

