The Leftovers s2 ep 10

imageTwenty-nine days into 2016 and I’m finally finishing the last of my 2015 tv reviews.

Of course, The Leftovers finale aired so long ago, I doubt anyone is waiting on tenterhooks to hear what I have to say about it but we’re nothing if not completists at Unpopcult so, for what it’s worth, I thought  “I Live Here Now” was a beautifully-made, moving, startling, gripping, often shocking but ultimately hopeful and uplifting way to end what has been an astonishing, mesmerising season.

Tying up almost all the show’s big storylines, while still maintaining an atmosphere of mystery, intensity and spirituality, we found out what really happened to Evie and her friends, Meg and the Guilty Remnant mounted their attack on Miracle, Father Matt got everything he wished for, John confronted Kevin, and the extended Garvey family finally sorted themselves out.

The acting was remarkable, as ever; the writing, like I’ve said so many times this season, brave, bold, and sometimes completely bonkers. Some of the risks taken didn’t work for me (particularly the return to the fantasy afterlife I hated the first time from “International Assassin“) and some of the story was a little too fantastical but, for the most part, I was entranced. The Leftovers has never been populist tv and it never will be, but I absolutely love it, and so does HBO, it would seem, since, against all odds, a third season has been commissioned. I’m not entirely convinced this is a good idea; this episode would have worked beautifully as a series finale and I don’t know how much more story there can be to tell about these characters. But then season two itself was such a different beast to season one, telling an almost completely new story, and that turned out brilliantly, so maybe I should have a little more faith in Damon Lindelof, Tom Perrotta, Mimi Leder and the Leftovers team. Either way, I’m intrigued to see where the show goes from here.

Leave a Reply

