Doctor Who: The Husbands of River Song

Season’s greetings!

As is traditional for Christmas specials (particularly those set right after the loss of treasured companions) The Doctor’s in a bit of a mood. So, obviously the way to cheer him up is to thrust him into a “zany” intergalactic adventure with River Song, a homicidal head-hunting cyborg and a stolen diamond.

So far, so not my jam.

As is also traditional for Christmas specials, though, there’s some stuff about love and regret and that might have been a bit more my jam except that, frankly, it’s not laid on remotely thickly enough: I like my Christmas specials extra-sentimental and gooey and old-fashioned, and while the last few minutes of this teetered on the edge of giving me something to cry about, they never quite got there. Despite the very grown-up (and completely baffling – even a flowchart wouldn’t be enough for me to understand it) love story at its core, it felt like “The Husbands of River Song,” much like the Professor herself, was too busy being arch and clever to ever really touch the heart. Bah, humbug.

3 thoughts on “Doctor Who: The Husbands of River Song

  1. Tim December 25, 2015 / 9:41 pm

    A shame. I really enjoyed this. After all the seriousness of much of series nine and the sadness of the nature of Clara’s departure, I liked the frivolity of this and (hopefully) the bittersweet ending to River Song’s adventures with the Doctor. In fact, it was probably my favourite Who Christmas special – lightweight but not excessive with the saccharine.

    • CJ Cregg December 25, 2015 / 10:04 pm

      It may be because I’m not really a River person that I didn’t, Tim. Although I’m not really one for the zanier adventures either. I like them much sappier!

      • e December 26, 2015 / 5:50 am

        River is Helena. It takes a lot to tolerate her. I like her a lot but she can be annoying.

Leave a Reply

