Blindspot s1 ep 3

*SPOILERS*

Bish-bash-BANG!

This week’s dose of unapologetically entertaining bonkersness picks up where last week’s left off; turns out it’s Flashback Guy who’s grabbed Jane, so they tussle a bit, Jane spits out a tooth and Flashback Guy warns her not to trust “them,” but before we can find out who he means… WHOOMP. A bullet to the head, Flashback Guy dead on the floor and still no word on why somebody decided tattooing an amnesiac was a better way of communication than, oh, I don’t know, EMAIL?

Said amnesiac is understandably a little rattled by the encounter, but the sensitive psychologist’s attempts to soothe her after this “intimate violation” are met with hilarious grumpiness: “I’ve been drugged…. My entire body has been tattooed without my consent. A break-in is the least intimate of my violations!” Touché, Jane.

Or should I say “Taylor.” The brooding Kurt, now borderline hysterical about her safety after the Flashback Guy incident, is convinced Jane is his long-lost best friend/ future wife Taylor Shaw and wants to tell her so, but the more cautious/ crooked Mayfair wants it kept a secret till the tests are complete. How unfortunate then that pas-de-poker-face Kurt should have to try and keep something of this magnitude from acutely suspicious Jane/Taylor on the very day Flashback Guy’s told her she can’t trust “them!”

While the unhappy pair simmer resentfully at each other, news of a particular crime leads, unusually, to one of Jane/Taylor’s tattoos, rather than the other way around, as it turns out she shares a tat with a member of a gang of bank robbers nicknamed The Candymen because their balaclavas are the colours of M&Ms. (Other candies are also available.)

Sidekick Reade, meanwhile still burning with jealousy at Jane/Taylor being allowed into the gang, seizes the opportunity to stir the pot, and tries to present his misgivings as logical rather than emotional, (“Tell me the last time a victim was invited to join their own FBI investigation”), forgetting that this is Blindspot and logic is for wimps rather than badass tv FBI agents. But since the normally deep bond between our leads is a little strained by them keeping secrets from each other, Reade is (sort of) vindicated: Kurt gets all gruff and “stay in the car, Jane,” Jane/Taylor does nothing of the sort, the mission goes a little bit wrong and she’s packed unceremoniously back to the office with a lecture ringing in her ears and the very sweet Patterson trying to console her.

Badass Kurt can’t be without her for long, though; as soon as another lead presents itself, he wants Jane/Taylor in his arms by his side again. Poor Reade, bursting with schadenfreude and self-confidence after Jane/Taylor proved him right by screwing up the first time, pushes his luck by making the bold – foolish – move of suggesting that he take Jane instead, and pretty much accuses his boss Kurt of being too enamoured with her to be objective but this has about as much chance of succeeding as I have of dancing backwards to the moon; off Kurt and Jane/Taylor go to an interview which turns into a siege, which turns into a shootout, which turns into another opportunity to save each others’ lives, which…. OMG JUST SNOG ALREADY.

Anyway, entirely predictably, the only information obtained from the suspect is, as Zapata points out in very meta fashion, “insanely vague,” so big softie Kurt can no longer resist the pain in Jane/Taylor’s soulful eyes at yet another missed opportunity and fesses up about the Taylor Test situation: “You’re the same age. You have the same eyes. The same scar. And my name tattooed on your back.”

Swoon. Some other “intensely vague” conspiracy stuff happens, the test results are confirmed, and Jane/Taylor grasp each other’s arms a lot but all that really matters? “You can trust me, Jane. I’ve been looking for you my whole life.”

SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

6 thoughts on “Blindspot s1 ep 3

  1. Jed Bartlet December 14, 2015 / 11:15 pm

    Oh yes, “I’ve been looking for you my whole life” would have had me squeeing like a teenage gir- teenager of non-specific gender, were there the slightest chemistry between the two leads. Which there isn’t.

    So instead I’m going to ship the increasingly-awesome Patterson and the sensitive psychologist. #TeamPattivepsychologist FTW!

    This episode was tremendous fun. Killing off Flashback Guy gets the show a bit of credit as well; I thought we were going to have him hanging around for weeks.

  2. Kay20 December 14, 2015 / 11:53 pm

    This is really odd for me. Usually CJ and I agree on our shipping tendencies and I’m on a different planet than Jed (still think you’re awesome Jed!). Right now I’m inhabiting Jed’s shipping planet and I don’t know where to go here. (whispers *sensitive psychologist*)

    I’m surprisingly with Reade on this one – the voice of reason. I’d be asking the same questions in his shoes. Especially since charisma vacuum Kurt keeps proving him right. (to be fair, he is getting better, in episode 8 or 9 – can’t remember – I had a glimmer of “yay!” for him because he cracked an actual joke!!!!)

    Still love Mayfair, and growing to love Patterson with every passing week. Also, Zapata finally gets a personality too in later episodes, which I’m liking.

    Basically, I found the show fun at the start, but I’m liking the later episodes even better because the show gets more comfortable with the supporting cast and fleshes them out relative to the leads.

    Still very much enjoying this!

    • CJ Cregg December 15, 2015 / 11:16 pm

      Not to worry, Kay – per our chat in the comments last week, I’m shipping Patterson and the sensitive psychologist too! But them not actually sharing any scenes together is hampering that a bit…

      If only they could join forces. Come on, writers, make it happen.

      Weller really needs to loosen up and stop grimacing once in a while, but the dialogue / direction for him and Jane is so CLEARLY meant to encourage shipping and I need so little encouragement for that type of thing, I just can’t help it!

      • Kay20 December 15, 2015 / 11:58 pm

        Yup, hear ya on where they are going. You’re a little behind, so a couple of things happen that I can’t quite mention yet, but it’ll be interesting for you. 🙂

        I just need Weller to develop a personality, and FINALLY towards the end of the first part of the season it starts to show up. So maybe I’ll be able to join you in the spring!

        (There is one episode coming up where I want to rip his head off and serve it to him on a platter. Involves him and Mayfair.)

        Glad you’re enjoying this!

        P.S. You should check out Once Upon a Time. I think you’d like it and it’s available on netflix in the UK. The show improves over time (and you do have to make it over the road bump that is the second half of season 2). It’s schmaltzy for sure, I mean, it’s about fairy tales, but it’s one of those rare shows that is optimistic and deals in hope rather than the dour dark mood that TV is generally in right now. Plus it has one of my favorite characters on TV – Captain Hook. 🙂

  3. Jed Bartlet December 15, 2015 / 11:54 pm

    Welcome to my planet, Kay. Now, about Root…

    EDIT: And Scarlett…

    • Kay20 December 16, 2015 / 12:00 am

      I know Jed. They are both firmly on my bad side right now. Here’s to hoping…

Leave a Reply

