Doctor Who s35 ep 10

For reasons best known to itself, the BBC decided to rob tonight’s Doctor Who of much of its potential power by announcing beforehand that it was going to be the end of Clara’s time with the Doctor. Yes, we already knew Jenna Coleman was leaving, but, much like the other death I was spoiled for this week, knowing exactly when it was happening undermined the story somewhat, although, unlike the other big tv death I was spoiled for this week, the story wasn’t too great to begin with: old friend Rigsy is framed for murder by old irritant Ashildr – I despise Ashildr – who is now calling herself “Mayor Me” (just die already) and running an alien refugee camp like a totalitarian state.

It’s all a ruse to trap and punish the Doctor because this whining, wretched ingrate of an immortal still can’t see that the fault is with her not with him, so, as soon as the Girl Who Grumbled appears, everything goes to pot because she annoys me so much I can’t see straight. Which is a shame because “Face the Raven” really could have packed some punch, if I hadn’t been seething my way through it.

On the positive side, though, Jovian Wade’s Rigsy is very sweet and likeable, Jenna Coleman and Peter Capaldi are their usual excellent selves and there’s some pertinent commentary about not insulting the memory of lost loved ones with mindless revenge – particularly poignant in a week when social and every other kind of media has been awash with vile, vicious bigotry, blaming the most vulnerable for the very horrors they’re fleeing from.

I never liked Clara as the “Impossible Girl” when she was more puzzle than actual person, but, over the last couple of seasons, she became a proper companion and well-developed character in her own right, and I grew to like her very much, so I’m genuinely sorry to see her go. What it will do to a series that’s already struggling, I don’t know. I wish it could have been bloody Ashildr instead.

4 thoughts on “Doctor Who s35 ep 10

  1. Grant November 21, 2015 / 11:22 pm

    It was going well until that stuff about promising the raven a soul. It made about as much sense as all that impossible girl stuff.

    Maybe her next death will tie up some ends.

    Rigsy was definitely very likable

    • CJ Cregg November 21, 2015 / 11:54 pm

      Yeah, the “rules” for the Raven thing were obviously completely arbitrary just to make sure she died. “I can’t cancel the contract cos you swapped.” Eh? “You can’t swap back.” Why not? I was waiting for someone to ask Ashildr “How about YOU take the tat and give the Raven YOUR soul, then, Miss Me? If YOU’RE so sorry for what YOU’VE done. And since YOU keep telling us immortality sucks so much. ”

      But I’m sure there would have been a “rule” against that, too.

  2. Virginia Cerezo November 22, 2015 / 8:55 am

    I was probably the only person in the world who hadn’t heard the rumours about this being Clara’s final episode, and I’m thankful for that!

    • CJ Cregg November 22, 2015 / 10:16 pm

      Hi Virginia – I envy you, I wish I hadn’t known either. I think it made a big difference to how I perceived the whole story.

Leave a Reply

