Doctor Who s35 ep 9

Found footage, carnivorous monsters and people running screaming round a dark, abandoned space station? Yep, all the ingredients for a scary Doctor Who ep are here, even if Sleep No More does take a while to get going – I was a little bored at first.

Still, Mark Gatiss’s contribution to the season has plenty of eerie atmosphere, some decent shocks and a great, if confusing final scene, although I don’t think I fully understood how the story panned out at the end or the actual mechanics of the Sandmen/Morpheus situation.

I have seen scarier Whos, possibly because I found them a bit less confusing than this one, but this was still a perfectly respectable contribution to the “sleep is even more essential than you think it is” field of science-fiction. One of the better eps in what has turned out to be a patchy season, I think.

2 thoughts on “Doctor Who s35 ep 9

  1. Capt. Harold Dobey November 14, 2015 / 10:02 pm

    I don’t think Gatiss understood the end.

    I’m going to have to go contrary on you and run with patchy episode in better series.

    I’ve never really cared what happens on a space station, so it never had me at hello. I just felt – we’ve done blinking, we’ve done monsters under the bed, what’s next?

    And it didn’t work. Especially as we’ve already had this story a month ago.

    And I don’t really like episodes where we can’t actually see Clara.

    • CJ Cregg November 14, 2015 / 10:48 pm

      Yeah, it reminded me of the Under the Lake ep too, Capt. And a few other ones… these running down corridors being chased by monsters ones are all pretty similar, I suppose. They should maybe space (sorry) them out a bit more.

Leave a Reply

