Doctor Who s35 ep 6

The Doctor, on the hunt for a magic purple McGuffin, finds himself in 1651 and back in the company of Ashildr aka The Girl Who Died, The Woman Who Lived and The Character Who Should Never Return.

Good grief. Never in the history of people who live forever has one of them been quite so incredibly whiny and annoying. Yes, Missy is irritating in the extreme and the Doctor’s habit of “Woe is me, eternal life is hard” brooding can be trying, but this week, Ashildr, aka The Immortal With the Planet-Sized Chip on Her Shoulder, put all of that into startling perspective. I know we were supposed to sympathise with this walking complaint generator, but my GOD. After about ten minutes of this episode, I didn’t care what it was about any more (which is just as well because the plot wasn’t so much wafer-thin as virtually non-existent), I just wanted it to end. Note to Doctor: if this is what happens when you break the rules, then DON’T.

4 thoughts on “Doctor Who s35 ep 6

  1. e October 25, 2015 / 12:13 am

    I don’t even bother watching. But I live for these reviews. *snort*

    • CJ Cregg October 25, 2015 / 2:43 pm

      Heh, happy to be of service šŸ˜‰

  2. Capt. Harold Dobey October 25, 2015 / 7:35 pm

    I thought it hit on some good themes of loneliness and existence. And proceeded to cover them with about three lines of dialogue. I’m guessing we’ll be seeing those two idiot immortals again.

    Just read that Moffat told the audiences at kid-on-comic-con that Jenna Coleman wanted a contract like Scott Caan this series.

    • CJ Cregg October 25, 2015 / 9:57 pm

      Yep, I’m sure we will be seeing them again, Capt, but I really can’t bear the thought.

      *head in hands*

Leave a Reply

