The Returned (Les Revenants) s2 ep 1

“6 mois plus tard….”

In tv time maybe, but the reality is UK viewers last saw Les Revs in summer 2013, and this UK viewer really should have read the Wiki summaries for season 1 before attempting to watch the first ep of season 2 and finding herself completely baffled. Who are these people? Where did all these soldiers come from? Who actually went with the People Formerly Known as Dead? When did the town flood? Is that man the rapist’s brother? No, wait….. the serial killer’s brother? Who is that woman? What is that guy’s name again….?

And so it continued. In my head, at least. The combination of a lack of previouslies and a time jump didn’t help, nor did the early focus on anonymous new soldiers and somebody called Berg whom we’d never seen before, with last season’s characters being re-introduced very, very slowly…. We started with Adele and her supremely scary demon baby, true, but it took forever to see any of the other survivors (most of whom I didn’t recognise) and then even longer to see the returnees. Which is not to say that this ep wasn’t decent tv; it was eerie and engrossing from the start, but it only really started to come together for me a good 45 minutes in when we went with Audrey to REDACTED and everything suddenly became both more recognisable and completely terrifying.

Finally reading the summaries afterward has refreshed my memory (That guy’s name was Simon!) and probably made me better-disposed towards the next ep, but independent reading seems a bit much for a supernatural fantasy about people coming back from the dead which has been off our screens for over 2 years. I’ll stick with Les Revs for now, because, in fairness, it’s still excellent genre tv and I was actually glued to, if simultaneously baffled by, this episode. But I fear that this is one occasion where absence has not made the heart grow fonder and season 2 may have missed its moment. I was pretty excited about the show at the end of season 1, and if it had returned (sorry) a year or so ago maybe I still would have been, but now? Not too fussed either way.

3 thoughts on “The Returned (Les Revenants) s2 ep 1

  1. Jed Bartlet October 23, 2015 / 7:59 am

    I have no idea who any of these people are. It’s one thing to flatter your audience and hope that it will keep up with a complex or even opaque plot, but I thought this asked too much of us.

    I believe that in France it was three years between the first season and this one. Viewing figures have dropped significantly. I can see why.

  2. Snoskred October 23, 2015 / 10:07 am

    Thanks for reminding me to rewatch season one before watching the new stuff.. 🙂 seems like a good idea anyway as it has been so long between seasons.. 🙂

    • CJ Cregg October 25, 2015 / 10:03 pm

      I’m not sure I’d be brave enough to watch all of s1 again, Snoskred. Victor would give me nightmares!

Leave a Reply

