Public Service Announcement 27 of 2015: Hannibal, Orange Is The New Black, Murder In The First

You can’t watch everything these days, of course, so we all have a list of shows we’d like to watch but haven’t quite got round to. Hannibal is in the top 3 of my must-see list – I promised to myself that I would catch up after season 2 and before the third season started, but here we are; it’s kicking off tonight, and I haven’t managed it. Which is a shame, because I know, I just know, that I would like it. I will get to it, though; perhaps in time for the fourth season, if there is one (tonight, 10pm, Sky Living).

I am, though, entirely across Netflix’s sensationally good Orange Is The New Black, which returns this week for its third season, and has already established itself as one of the best things on… TV? (If that’s what you call it these days.) Joyously female-centric, with standout performances everywhere you look, and whether you regard it as drama or comedy it’s capable of delivering on both fronts, often simultaneously. I’m planning to review this season, but haven’t yet decided how: perhaps I’ll drip-feed the reviews during July, when it’s a bit quieter (Friday 12 June, Netflix).

And there’s more good news, with the return of Steven Bochco’s Murder In The First for its second run. I thought the first season was excellent in an old-fashioned sort of way: a good story, an even pace, two attractive leads, and a terrific supporting cast. (CJ, it should be said, was less than convinced.) There was even a half-hearted ship, although the problem there was that the characters had fantastic workplace chemistry and very little of the romantic kind. Anyway, it’s back, and this time we’re getting it a matter of days, rather than months, after American transmission, which is also good. I’m probably not going to do week-by-week reviews this time round, although I’ll have something to say about the first episode, just to make sure it’s still ticking over nicely (Friday 12 June, 10pm, FOX UK).

Also starting: British drama The Interceptor, which not even the Radio Times can be bothered to pretend is worth watching (tonight, 9pm, BBC One); some more inheritance fun and games in the second season of Denmark’s The Legacy (Friday 12 June, 9pm, Sky Arts 1); and Scandi-gloom with added missing children in Sweden’s Jordskott (tonight, 10pm, ITV Encore). And a one-off which is worth mentioning: Chris Evans’s TFI Friday, which during its swaggering imperial phase kick-started the 90’s weekend, is back with a special edition (Friday 12 June, 9pm, Channel 4).

3 thoughts on “Public Service Announcement 27 of 2015: Hannibal, Orange Is The New Black, Murder In The First

  1. Snoskred June 11, 2015 / 3:59 am

    I loved that show Police Interceptors, and this new show is not that, so it is probably a no from me. But yes to Murder in the First, and also, Orange is the new Black. 🙂

    I am told Hannibal is excellent and I am a huge fan of the books, but I have not got around to watching it yet.. I must do that sometime! 😉

  2. Jed Bartlet June 12, 2015 / 11:58 am

    If I remember correctly, Snoskred, you were recommending Murder in the First to us well before it showed up in the UK.

  3. Snoskred June 20, 2015 / 1:56 pm

    You are remembering correctly! 😉

    Now, I will like to take a serious moment. I know you both well enough to know that there is a show upcoming which you will be tempted by. A lovely little show featuring a certain ex-president we all know, plus someone who was his secretary for a while. And on the surface, this show looks like it will be *awesome* and has a pretty stellar cast – Jane Fonda, Sam Waterston, plus Martin Sheen and Lily Tomlin.

    I have watched 5 episodes of this show, which is two and a half hours. I’m not exactly sure what the show is trying to be – a comedy, a drama, a dramedy or a comma, or something else entirely. But I know what it is *not* and that is awesome. I think it is the writing because I’m sure this excellent cast is 200% excellent, they have been excellent in other things..

    So I know, even though I have said this, you will want to give the show a try when it appears. And you might do like I did, and keep watching in the hope that it gets better. Sadly it does not seem like it will.

    I might even keep watching in that same hope, it is a fairly short little episode and there is quite a bit of interesting to look at in the hair of Jane Fonda – it is almost like looking at whatever that creature is that resides on the head of Donald Trump, you think if you look for just a few minutes more, the mystery will be solved and you will finally understand what is going on there.. but you never do manage to quite work it out.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

