The Good Wife s6 ep 16

imageThe day of the election has finally – thank GOD – arrived, but there’s still time to get in a bit of campaigning, some disturbingly easy (but amusing) manipulation of voter turnout and a bitter argument between Alicia and Peter to poor Eli’s extreme discomfort. For a campaign ep, it’s a good one: Julianna Margulies and Chris Noth spark off each other as wonderfully as ever, the dynamic with poor smitten Jonny is intriguing (as is the unconcealed glare Peter gives him) if short-lived and the adorable Finn, fabulous Marissa and a game of Halo steal the show. Team Cool Beans FTW!

In the other (non-election-related) show also called “The Good Wife,” meanwhile, Diane goes on the hunting trip with Kurt and his uber-rich Republican pals, which isn’t my favourite storyline (all that staring at meat…) but it gives us the gift of Christine Baranski and Oliver Platt hanging out and being ace, so yay for it anyway. And, by way of a bonus, we also get some twists in the Lemond Bishop / Kalinda story which I actually really like, although I’m a little distracted – I realised earlier this week that, while Lemond himself always looks immaculate, so does his house, and now I can’t look at that pristine, beautiful kitchen without wondering who cleans it. There must be a housekeeper or someone, surely? That we’ve never met? Because you KNOW Lemond Bishop does not do household chores.

4 thoughts on “The Good Wife s6 ep 16

  1. Jed Bartlet May 24, 2015 / 11:37 pm

    I don’t think the election campaign has been quite as fascinating for viewers as the writers would have liked. And I’m not sure what’s behind it, unless the writers thought that they’d done the law firm themes to death, particularly after destroying Lockhart Gardner, then reassembling it under a new name. I wouldn’t be surprised were DA Florrick to demit office fairly quickly, or even find herself disqualified, because I’m not sure the concept has legs.

    Still, if it gives us Marissa it’s been worthwhile. I still heart her. I also liked Peter’s not-so-subtle assertion of political primacy; you might think you’re a proper politician because you’ve taken part in one campaign, but I’m the big dog around here.

    I quite liked Diane and the hunting trip. On the other hand, I’m not so sure about Lemond’s arc, partly because it’s another waste of Archie Panjabi – for whatever reason – and partly because I’d be happier if he just owned it. Yes, you’re going to have difficulty finding a school for your child. No, Alicia doesn’t want to talk to you. Because you’re a drug dealer and killer. Suck it up.

  2. CJ Cregg May 24, 2015 / 11:58 pm

    Yeah, I agree with you that the election campaign story has definitely backfired. I’m very apprehensive about next season too – the show seems to have been in wrecking ball mode since Josh Charles decided he was leaving; destroy the Will/Alicia relationship, destroy Lockhart/Gardner, destroy or at least dismantle Florrick Agos Lockhart by having Florrick give up the firm to take office…. I don’t know what they have planned for next year, but I have a horrible feeling it’s more of the same destruction of the friendships and relationships that I care about. It worked last year – season 5 was incredible – but lately it seems that they’re smashing up things just for something to do. That scene a few weeks ago where Diane and Cary recruited David Lee and suddenly turned on Alicia was bizarre and not a positive omen.

    However, I don’t think Archie Panjabi’s had anything interesting to do for years tbh, so I actually prefer her in Uneasy Kalinda mode with Lemond than doing her usual Magic Sexpot or Super-Kalinda-Solves-It-All stories.

    In fairness to Lemond, Alicia might not want to talk to him, but she was happy enough to take his money…. If I were Chicago’s Premier Druglord, I’d be a bit hacked off too.

  3. Jed Bartlet May 25, 2015 / 7:54 pm

    Two other things I forgot to say: part of the problem with the election arc is that I’ve never had any clear sense of why Alicia’s standing at all, or even that she cares very much about it. I suppose this could be intentional, as she can be contrasted with Prady, but if she’s not bothered I’m kind of wondering why I should.

    And that bit where they started phoning West Wing actors – too meta, or just meta enough?

    • CJ Cregg May 25, 2015 / 10:54 pm

      Just weird, I thought. It was a joke that didn’t really land for me.

Leave a Reply

