Jane the Virgin s1 ep 1

“Claudia Jean Cregg sat down to watch the first episode of Jane the Virgin and was immediately suspicious. An annoying voiceover. A brightly-coloured palette. A wide-eyed little girl. Could it be? Could Claudia Jean have been tricked into watching – Ay Dios mio – Amelie?!

Claudia Jean loathed Amelie. Its smug whimsy, its cloying cuteness, its … But, wait! This was not Amelie. The voiceover moved quickly to just the right side of droll. The bright palette was sunny rather than irritating. And the first episode of Jane the Virgin turned out to be a delight: sweet but very sharp, charming but very, very funny, and, most importantly of all, definitely not Amelie.

Claudia Jean was hooked.”

16 thoughts on “Jane the Virgin s1 ep 1

  1. e April 25, 2015 / 4:53 pm

    Nodding smugly.

    • CJ Cregg April 26, 2015 / 2:42 pm

      You were right, of course, e – it hit every one of my buttons. Loved it to bits!

  2. e April 25, 2015 / 4:54 pm

    p.s. Latin Lover Voiceover Man is the best part of the entire series. He generally has the best punchlines.

  3. Olive April 25, 2015 / 11:29 pm

    Good fun, like Ugly Betty with less bite.

    • CJ Cregg April 26, 2015 / 2:40 pm

      Y’know, I actually thought it had more bite than Betty. Some of the jokes hit much harder targets than Betty ever did, much as I enjoyed La Suarez and co.

      • Olive April 26, 2015 / 10:39 pm

        Ah, different meanings of “bite”. Less snark might have been more accurate.

  4. Kay20 April 26, 2015 / 2:16 am

    Yeah, watched the first episode and it got me too. And love the way you wrote this, CJ.

  5. Jed Bartlet April 28, 2015 / 6:25 pm

    I liked it, but I’d hoped it would be a bit… funnier? I mean, I can see that it was pleasant and witty and all, but I don’t remember laughing. I’ll keep watching, though.

    • CJ Cregg April 28, 2015 / 11:01 pm

      Not even when Xiomara started shouting “Immaculata!” and got down on her knees and started praying at Jane? I was in *fits* at that.

      • Jed Bartlet April 28, 2015 / 11:08 pm

        Might have cracked a smile.

  6. Kay20 October 25, 2015 / 6:49 pm

    Coming back to this, now watched episode 2 and not sure I like Rafael. I feel like I’m slowly starting to like the part of the love triangle that’s the loser (her actual fiance).

  7. Kay20 October 25, 2015 / 6:52 pm

    Heh. Jed, looks like you and I are on the same side of a ship for once (I read ahead). #TeamMichael for the win!

  8. Jed Bartlet October 25, 2015 / 10:05 pm

    #TeamMichael!

  9. Jed Bartlet October 25, 2015 / 10:05 pm

    I’d say it’s definitely worth watching. It took a while, but I fell in love around halfway through the season.

  10. CJ Cregg October 25, 2015 / 10:00 pm

    *raises hand*

    My reactions all seem to be opposite to Jed’s on this. I’m Team Rafael, really dislike Michael, loved the show at first and fell out of love with it about halfway through the season…. I think the cast are brilliant and Rogelio in particular is amazing, but I got pretty fed up with the show by the end of the season.

Leave a Reply

