Public Service Announcement 21 of 2015: Louie, Daredevil

On looking back, I see that after previewing it I didn’t say anything about the last season of Louie. Actually, I thought it was the best so far, a view not shared by everyone who saw it. It was probably the least amusing, but as I’ve said before Louie has never really been a comedy to me; capable of being very funny for sure, but more of a surreal drama.

And season 4 was as varied, as hard-hitting, and as brilliant as anything on TV: the astonishing ‘So Did The Fat Lady’, for instance; the multi-part ‘Elevator’; the flight-of-fancy of ‘Model’, with Yvonne Strahovski. Most daring of all was ‘Pamela Part 1’ and its now-infamous and disturbing “This would be rape if you weren’t so stupid! You can’t even rape well!” scene, in which Louis C.K. seemed to me to be deliberately challenging male notions of consent, and the distance or otherwise between onscreen Louie and offscreen Louis C.K. I’d expect Louie to remain essential viewing (tonight, 11pm, Fox UK).

A friend of the blog has chastised me for not mentioning Netflix’s Marvel adaptation Daredevil, all 13 episodes of which are available now for streaming. He’s right; perhaps because I decided some time ago that comic book adaptations and I don’t really get on. In addition, I recognise that I’m not the best person to be saying anything about Daredevil, because until I wrote this I didn’t actually know anything about it.

I might need to acquire a knowledge of comic book culture, though, because on top of all of the other film and TV adaptations we’ve had over the last few years, Netflix is going for this in a big way: Daredevil is the first of four planned Marvel live-actioners, leading to a miniseries based on The Defenders (?).

So this sort of thing isn’t going away; and fairness requires me to record that Daredevil has had very good reviews, excellent word-of-mouth, and this story of a blind lawyer-turned-vigilante (?) looks as if I’d probably enjoy it if I watched it. And there’s the problem: there’s always a time of year at which Unpopcult becomes convinced that broadcasters are trying to kill us with TV. We may have reached that point: PSAs soon for Jane the Virgin, Madam Secretary, and Empire, all coming before the end of April. Then there’s May. So Daredevil might have to wait.

3 thoughts on “Public Service Announcement 21 of 2015: Louie, Daredevil

  1. Snoskred April 17, 2015 / 6:19 am

    I can’t wait to see what you think of Madam Secretary. Sometimes the lines are just so cheesy and schmaltzy it makes me inwardly cringe, but there are a lot of things to make up for that, and every single week when I see Morgan Freeman as executive producer it gives me a happy thrill with a small side of goosebumps. Plus, Eric Stoltz has directed 3 episodes, and Eriq La Salle directed one, which reminded me how much I miss Peter Benton from my teevee screens. 🙂

    But the cheese is sometimes strong with this one, especially when delivered somewhat breathlessly by Tea Leoni.

  2. lukebbtt April 17, 2015 / 12:35 pm

    Daredevil is worth the time put into it. It doesn’t treat itself like a comic book show which is why I think you will like it much better than the others.

  3. Jed Bartlet April 17, 2015 / 2:51 pm

    That’s what I was told, Lukebbtt. I’d really like to try it if I can find the time.

Leave a Reply

