The Mentalist s7 ep 6

Yay! I liked this one.

Opening signs weren’t good, since the FBI investigating a failed DEA drug bust initially screamed “jurisdictional turf war” – not something we’re too keen on round these parts. And I wasn’t keen on revisiting the Rio Bravo business touched on a couple of weeks ago, either. However, it’s always good to see Dylan Baker and the combination of him, Abbott, Jane and a brisk, simple but well-plotted story made this episode the best of the season so far, I think. Abbott and Jane’s friendship, in particular, made the Rio Bravo revelation scene unexpectedly moving, and the little sub-plot about Jane’s birthday was both very sweet and overtly, physically couple-y (ie there was kissing) in a way the show seems to have avoided since Jane and Lisbon got together – some manna for the shippers at last, eh? Or at least some of them; a lovelorn Wylie got nowhere with Vega this week but I’m happy enough for that ship to sink, to be honest. She still does my head in.

One thought on “The Mentalist s7 ep 6

  1. Jed Bartlet March 21, 2015 / 12:28 am

    Think you’ve covered the ground I was going to:

    – For a TV couple, Lisbon and Jane don’t spend much time being a couple;
    – I really, really like the relationship that Jane has with Abbott;
    – Dylan Baker rules;
    – If this is how the final season is going to be – plenty of enjoyable romps – then I’m totally fine with that. This was great.

    Don’t know what you’ve got against poor Vega, though. I thought it quite interesting that she would challenge the way Jane does things. Perhaps she also reminds you of the perky associate from Eli Stone, as she does me. Anyway, I remain of the view that Wylie isn’t for her.

Leave a Reply

