The Mentalist s7 ep 4

The team investigate a diamond heist, Vega follows Cho around like a lost puppy (for goodness sake, girl – he’s awesome and all, but get a grip) begging for attention, and Jane has a cold which everyone treats as if it’s life-threatening.

Meh.

The mystery is completely uninteresting, the focus being more on the characters’ relationships, all of which seem to be preparing for something big to happen: Vega and Cho take tentative steps towards closeness, Abbott distances himself from Mrs Abbott while he waits for us to find out what happened at “Rio Bravo” and Jane starts hinting that the future may not be as clear-cut as Lisbon would like to think.

Yes, blanket-wrapped Jane was cute, I’m delighted he’s back in 3-piece suits instead of those awful flowery shirts and I love that Abbott now seems to be shipping Chega (?) as well as Jisbon but, at the end of “Black Market”, I was left thinking the writers were so busy getting everyone into position for whatever’s going to happen to them in the next few episodes, that they didn’t really care too much about what was happening in this one. As a consequence, neither did I.

2 thoughts on “The Mentalist s7 ep 4

  1. Jed Bartlet March 7, 2015 / 10:12 pm

    Vega’s a bit needy, isn’t she? I can’t decide if she’s in love with Cho or just wants his respect, but either way I’m delighted that Abbott’s apparently shipping them. What an amazing boss! In every other American procedural everyone needs to keep their inevitable office romances secret; Abbott’s more or less running a matchmaking operation.

    I quite liked this. It didn’t change my life, but it was enjoyable. And Lisbon the psychic was awesome.

    • CJ Cregg March 7, 2015 / 10:36 pm

      Vega’s very needy indeed, but I’m sure it’s not “respect” she wants from Cho, it’s something else entirely. Following him about prostrating herself every two minutes…. “Tell me what I have to do.” Whine whine. “Pleeeeeeease forgive me.” Beg beg. Ugh. If I were Cho, all that clinging and begging would put me right off. Can you imagine Lisbon acting like that? No way. Even Van Pelt was never this desperate for approval from a man. Vega has gone right down in my estimation after all this mooning around.

      Abbott is a great boss, though, agreed. King of the shippers! I’m really annoyed they’re messing up his marriage, though. Had we even met his wife before this week? Why bring her in for the final season just to break her heart? Hurrumph.

Leave a Reply

