Nashville s2 ep 15

One of the many things to cherish about Nashville is the way in which its essential soapiness allows it to swing from tragedy to triumph without the merest hint of a blush. So at one end of the scale this week is Lamar’s death – not before time, given that we’ve never really had a satisfactory storyline for him. But it gives everyone a chance to react: Rayna bottles up her complicated grief, until a late-episode meltdown; Juliette comes to the small, private funeral, which confused one viewer at least – I know that she and Rayna have been getting on better, but when did they become besties?; Deacon offers Rayna a puppy-eyed shoulder to cry on, but he should really be watching his own turf, because it kind of looks as if the hot attorney is providing a special sort of consolation to Mayor Teddy. Bad move, I’d say, hot attorney, like anyone listens to me. But it might at least give another hot thirtysomething woman a chance to start a relationship with Deacon.

And at the other extreme there’s the giddy joy of St Avery, Gunnar, and Zoey setting up their little musicians’ collective: starting off jamming at home, moving on to become Deacon’s backing group, and ending up with the unmistakeable let’s-do-the-show-right-here suggestion: why don’t we just start a band? Scarlett is now the one who feels left out, but she makes up for it later: one night, she rebuffs Liam’s advances; the morning after, she goes for it. (I don’t remember Liam ever being quite as needy as he was this week, incidentally; was he not the coolest thing on the planet when Rayna initially approached him?) I called this one, of course, but that really doesn’t require any sort of prescience, given that everyone in Nashville ends up sleeping with everyone else.

In between there’s Juliette’s plot: no-one wants to touch her in Nashville, but big LA producer Howie V flies her out to re-record ‘Don’t Put Dirt On My Grave Just Yet’ – St Avery, of course, accepting with grace and equanimity the news that his primitive production of it might get binned. Howie V’s versh involves backing singers, a string section, and a harp: I think we were supposed to hate it, but I actually quite liked it. Anyway, during the dumb photoshoot that follows, Glenn the Manager realises that Juliette’s going in another direction, and quits, although later on Juliette realises that she’s not done with country music and rehires him. Short of a Gunnlett revival I honestly don’t think I could have asked for a lot more. I absolutely loved this.

6 thoughts on “Nashville s2 ep 15

  1. CJ Cregg May 22, 2014 / 8:49 pm

    Didn’t Rayna go to Juliette’s mother’s small private funeral too, though? I figured Juliette was returning the favour. And being there for Maddie too since they’re close. I wasn’t surprised she went tbh.

    Yep, Liam has NEVER been this needy. He was super-cool right up to the last time we saw him, but they basically re-wrote him for the week, probably so he doesn’t make Scarlett look even more rubbish in comparison – I thought his sudden change of character was really jarring. I hope being in her orbit doesn’t sap the coolness out of him…..

    Avery continues to rule – his and the other two’s story with Deacon was lovely, bless. They could be a great wee trio as long as none of them lets Scarlett get within 50 feet again. Juliette and Glen were great too, even if it was obvious how that storyline was going to end right from the start… it was still very sweet. I remember Glen coming across as quite creepy in s1 but I really like his relationship with Juliette now.

  2. Jed Bartlet May 22, 2014 / 11:06 pm

    Oh, I wasn’t surprised as such; it’s TV. As for Glenn: I was actually expecting him to check out for a couple of episodes, which is what season 1 Juliette would have done to him, but perhaps not now.

    St Avery is now becoming parodic. Play for nothing, Deacon? Hell, I would sell my kidney for the chance to play for you. Throw out my production of your song, Juli? Whatevs.

  3. CJ Cregg May 25, 2014 / 9:16 pm

    Leave Lovely Avery alone! Everyone – Gunnar, Zoey, Deacon – becomes way more likeable around him, so more power to his elbow, if you ask me.

  4. Kay20 August 12, 2017 / 8:59 pm

    Why on earth would they shackle Liam with the anchor that is Scarlett? BLEGH.

    • Jed Bartlet August 12, 2017 / 10:12 pm

      It took me a while, but I eventually realised that I’m the only person who hearts Scarlett.

Leave a Reply

