Home > Smash, TV > Smash s1 ep 2

Smash s1 ep 2

Since Jed is busy running our Danish drama department and I unexpectedly fell in love with the pilot last week, I’ll be covering Smash for a while – at least until it drives me mad à la Glee.  Because it will drive me mad eventually, right?  Even if I’m so not there yet. 

There are already matters perplexing me, though.  Why did ”The Callback” spend so much time on the Julia adoption storyline, the Julia marriage storyline, the Julia anything storyline?  Who on earth cares about Eileen’s divorce?  Is Dev the most boringly predictable boyfriend with the most boringly predictable “resents girlfriend’s work” storyline ahead of him, ever?  Which combination of these tired tropes will be what drags the show down? 

But there’ll be time enough to worry about that later – not now, when we’ve just seen all these fabulous scenes with Derek putting Karen through her paces, finding unexpected, er, depth in Ivy, and just generally being brilliant.  Frankly, not a single other character matters.  Not even a little bit.  Jack Davenport carried this, with nice work from Katharine McPhee and Megan Hilty, a fun and schmaltzy soundtrack (Call Me was my favourite, 20th Century Fox Mambo was a bit weird) and lashings of chemistry between Davenport and anyone who happened to be sharing a scene with him.  I loved all of that.  Everything else was a bit duff, true, but nowhere near enough to stop me looking forward to episode 3.

Categories: Smash, TV
  1. e
    April 29, 2012 at 5:21 am | #1

    There are already matters perplexing me, though. Why did ”The Callback” spend so much time on the Julia adoption storyline, the Julia marriage storyline, the Julia anything storyline? Who on earth cares about Eileen’s divorce? Is Dev the most boringly predictable boyfriend with the most boringly predictable “resents girlfriend’s work” storyline ahead of him, ever? Which combination of these tired tropes will be what drags the show down?

    And thus you have the reason that the show will have a completely new showrunner come this fall — the show was renewed but not the main writer.

    Derek!

  2. April 29, 2012 at 2:06 pm | #2

    e :

    Derek!

    I second that ;-)

    The adoption storyline was particularly out of place, I thought – surely no one has tuned into this show for tedious “family drama”? We want sparkly lights, big songs and lots of showbizzy-type shenanigans, not tired old soap storylines we can get anywhere else! And Julia’s son whining about how he’d been promised his “little sister” and why couldn’t they go get her and oh, mommy, whine, whine – what was that?!? I thought he was supposed to be a teenager, why are they giving him lines clearly written for an 8 year old?

    A new showrunner sounds like a great idea if this sort of thing is prevalent for the rest of the season, although I’m slightly concerned that the new guy being Josh Safran from Gossip Girl – which grew too soapy even for me somewhere around season 2 – might mean more of this stuff than less. I hope I’m way off base with that….

  3. e
    April 29, 2012 at 6:57 pm | #3

    So why am I still watching this trainwreck (trust me, the adoption story is a *high* *point* in the narrative)? Derek and THIS: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dyQs-mQgyC8 (no spoilers)

    I’m such a soundtrack slut.

    There are a number of Broadway-themed blogs that are doing blow-by-blows, offering insights into the insider cameos, etc. I highly recommend reading along with them ep-by-ep as they balance their passion for Broadway with the Smash-cheese.

  4. Kay20
    April 30, 2012 at 1:18 am | #4

    I like Julia and Eileen, so I don’t mind the time spent with them. The creepy assistant on the other hand can go jump off a bridge. He just pops up in the oddest places.

    • e
      April 30, 2012 at 4:41 am | #5

      I read that first as “poops up” and then realized I’d read it wrong and then decided it makes more sense that way.

  5. May 1, 2012 at 8:56 pm | #6

    The assistant is clingy and annoying, and I’m sure will get spectacularly on my nerves as time goes on. But only 2 episodes have been shown in the UK so far and by the end of episode 1, Julia seemed to already hate him far more vehemently than he has yet had the chance to earn. Is she jealous that he might take Tom or credit for the idea away from her? He’s just a PA, but she seems bizarrely threatened by him.

    • Kay20
      May 2, 2012 at 4:29 am | #7

      I find the assistant extremely weird and offputting, so I’m with Julia. He’s too clingy and just hovers strangely. I don’t see many people doing that with their bosses.

      Could be just me!

      • e
        May 2, 2012 at 2:14 pm | #8

        It’s not just you.

  6. Oliveve
    May 2, 2012 at 9:55 pm | #9

    Should have been entitled ” a little less conversation”. Except for Mr Davenport who bucked the trend. Euphemism intended.

    Munty the assistant was unbearable. Just sue them for your cut already.

  7. Tim
    May 4, 2012 at 6:01 pm | #10

    I’m struggling to see how they can stretch this out into a second season without it becoming one big soap opera. But for now I’m enjoying the ride. Six years on from Idol, I’m still in love with McPhee’s voice. And Jack D is spot on.

  8. May 4, 2012 at 11:10 pm | #11

    Where do we all stand on the shipper-front? Surely it’s Derek + Karen FTW? Ivy and Dev are just speedbumps. Or is that just in my head?

    • e
      May 5, 2012 at 2:35 am | #12

      Die Karen Die.

      Sorry, but surely you’ll loathe her as much as I do just a few episodes on.

      I want Ivy, Tom & Derek to leave and start their own new Broadway play next season and leave the rest of the show and actors behind.

  9. Kay20
    May 5, 2012 at 4:48 am | #13

    I kinda like Dev I hate to admit it. Hes so square. Derek is a little smarmy to me. So far, not really pulling for anyone yet…

    I also can’t decide if I like Karen or Ivy week to week.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

