Home > Lost, TV > Lost s6 ep 10

Lost s6 ep 10

After last week’s jaw-dropping episode ‘Ab Aeterno’, back to what has become the normal format for the final season: the flash-sideways off the island, and on the island(s) the continuing build-up to what one assumes will be the major confrontation to come.  While I enjoyed this episode, I’m bound to say that for me it didn’t work as well as some of the others.  The major problem for me was that, even after six seasons, I’m still a little bit indifferent to Jin and Sun, no matter what timeline they’re in.  So, yes, we got to find out how Jin ended up in the meat locker and, yes, it was again good fun to see a ‘Lost’ bit-part player in an unfamiliar role (hey there, Mikhail!), but at root I’m not sure I care all that much.

The other slight issue I had with this episode is that it all felt just a little bit static: off-island, we got to a point we saw a few episodes ago, albeit by a different route.  Meantime, the on-island action seemed to involve the characters shuffling round a bit, adjusting positions and alliances, running about on the island: all interesting enough for the ‘Lost’ fan but nothing which really felt as if it was advancing the story too much.  Never mind.  In the final few minutes we got to see what The Package was.  As most of us guessed it’s a who rather than a what, and specifically it’s the character just about everyone’s been waiting to see again.  It’s been too long, brother.

Categories: Lost, TV
  1. April 5, 2010 at 2:28 pm | #1

    I’m with you on being completely indifferent to Sun and Jin, Jed, normally I just don’t care about them at all, but I actually really liked this one, weirdly. I totally agree that it wasn’t earth-shattering, but I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. And I particularly liked that Jin basically verbalised what I’ve been thinking for ages; why is noone freaked out their MINDS by the fact that Dead Locke is possessed by the Smoke Monster and giving them orders??? I loved Jin saying “No way am I hanging around to take orders from THAT THING!!!” even if that didn’t quite work out the way he hoped…

    Loved Sun basically saying “Sod this save the world business! I just want my husband!” and loved her scenes with Jack. And did you catch the reference to Aphasia ;-)

    Plus: Yay for Desmond.

    On the other hand, Widmore and his submarine staff: Meh.

  2. Jed Bartlet
    April 5, 2010 at 8:51 pm | #2

    Fair point about Jin’s remark. In general, they are all less freaked out by their situation than they should be.

  3. Kay20
    May 15, 2010 at 1:26 am | #3

    I’m with you Jed. I, however, do love Jin and Sun and I still couldn’t get behind this episode. It just was slower paced and didn’t have as many “aha!” moments as the previous episodes. I just feel like I “knew” most of it even though I hadn’t seen it before. There were a few good moments:

    Jin seeing his daughter for the first time
    Jack/Sun moments
    Jack telling Sun that it wasn’t the first time someone had told him to stay away (thank you Freckles)
    And of course, “brother” himself

    It’s a bummer seeing Sayid so blank by the way.

    I know I’m vastly behind, hopefully it’s entertaining seeing my comments knowing that the show is going somewhere where I haven’t been yet!

  4. Jed Bartlet
    May 15, 2010 at 6:20 pm | #4

    Always welcome, Kay20. I know that there are some of our readers who feel as if they’ve fallen too far behind with shows to comment on them. Not true (I was always weeks behind with Heroes for one). In this d. and a. we all watch shows at a different pace.

    And if you’re a Jin and Sun lover, you’ve got a Big Moment or two to come…

  5. May 15, 2010 at 6:33 pm | #5

    What Jed said ;-)

    I was always miles behind with Mad Men – just caught up with the last 3 episodes of it today…

  6. Red
    July 5, 2010 at 4:51 pm | #6

    I agree with you Jed. I didn’t care too much about what was happening in the flash-sideways and compared to the last ep’s awsomeness, it was a bit meh.

    I think I’m way ahead at being miles behind.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

