ER s15 ep 13

Talk about mid-season fatigue.

Largely turgid filler, broken up with just a smattering of fun scenes – I’m struggling to muster up much enthusiasm for this week’s ER.  I pondered just writing “Meh”, but I think Jed beat me to that many moons ago, so instead I’m going to fall back on that “List the Pro’s and Cons” thing folk do when they’re ambivalent about something.  Here goes….

Three things I enjoyed about this episode:-

1.  Babu, the owner of Jumbo Mart, who should be in this show every week, because he’s more entertaining than most of the rest of the cast put together.

2.  The welcome return of Officer Diaz.

3.  Neela being a numptie.

Three things I hated about this episode:-

1.  Sam, the chief moaner of the ER, who should never be in this show ever again.

2.  The unwelcome return (not that it ever went away) of Banfield’s “I suddenly need a baby RIGHT NOW to soothe my Secret Pain” storyline.

3. Neela being a numptie.

Or, y’know, Meh.

10 thoughts on “ER s15 ep 13

  1. Jed Bartlet April 5, 2009 / 6:53 pm

    I thought that Brenner was the most unlikeable ER character ever, but in fact she’s been under my nose for years. Take a bow, Sam. Girlfriend – if you break up with your boyf, you really don’t have a right to get moralistic about what he does thereafter. I didn’t think I could ever feel sorry for Gates but she’s managed it.

    Although that does leave the mystery of why he would prefer the perpetually whining Sam to the hot Daria.

  2. Dona Hunt April 5, 2009 / 8:38 pm

    Grady is growing on me.

  3. CJ Cregg April 5, 2009 / 10:08 pm

    Because he’s a fool, Jed?

    Having said that, I absolutely agree. I know I say it every week, but I HATE SAM. If it weren’t for the fact I’ve been watching ER for 15 seasons and it’s not like I’m going to quit halfway through the last one, I would seriously consider giving up on the show just so I don’t have to hear her self-righteous moaning crap any more. No other character has ever made me think that about ER.

    Even Boomerang Brenner is now apparently all cuddly and likeable. I wouldn’t get too comfortable though, matey, Neela may think she wants you now, but I very much doubt she’ll stick around for very long.

  4. Stephenstrange April 6, 2009 / 1:55 am

    to quote Ross Geller ” we were on a break!” except it wasn’t even a break, Sam stuck a knife in the poor guy’s heart, twisted it about a couple of times, pulled it out with her bare hand and stamped all over it! …. but you just know that they are going to get back together.
    I’m with Jed, Daria is Hot!

  5. Kay20 April 6, 2009 / 4:13 am

    Boomerang Brenner! The best most apt title ever!!!!

    Dona – I’m with you though on Grady – he’s the one resident I actually enjoy, and I think it’s telling they’ve replaced a lot of the interns with his bits (thank god). I think this was the episode where he was asked what he was doing all night and he replied “playing video games and doing jello shots.” This was a direct shout out to Neela’s “eating bonbons and taking a bubble bath” of season 12 when it was HER first night shift as an intern.

    Loved the continuity there.

    Other than that, hear you on the whining of Sam.

    And I wanted to yak at Nenner or Breela or whatever the hell they’re called. Neela girlfriend, did the mistake with Gates teach you NOTHING?

    Love Officer Diaz. She has a great smile does she not? And I love the fact that she doesn’t weigh 90 lbs.

  6. Kay20 April 6, 2009 / 4:15 am

    Whoops – I meant Neela’s first shift as an R2. My bad!

    P.S. What’s a numptie? British slang I don’t understand.

  7. Jed Bartlet April 6, 2009 / 9:10 am

    With you on Officer Diaz, Kay. Archie deserves a bit of lovin’.

  8. CJ Cregg April 6, 2009 / 12:50 pm

    Totally agree, Kay. The mistake with Gates taught the writers nothing anyway – we’re doing it all again….Still at least Neela made a decision and went for something she wanted for a change instead of just whinging about it. I’ll be treating “Breela” (I like that name) as a kind of training relationship for her for now. It’ll give her a chance to practise acting like a functioning adult in a couple till she can get it right with Ray. (I hope.)

    And “numptie” is Scottish slang for a stupid person. I couldn’t resist using it – other words that I love that mean the same thing are “tumshie”, “daftie” and “dunderheid” (pronounced dunder-heed). Now you can impress all your off-blog friends 😉

  9. CJ Cregg April 6, 2009 / 12:54 pm

    Also, for the record, Daria and Officer Diaz both have very nice smiles, but Daria seems like a bit of numptie/tumshie/daftie/dunderheid while Officer Diaz seems like a woman of sense. Get in there, Archie my man.

  10. Kay20 April 7, 2009 / 1:25 am

    Thanks for the explanation of slang again! 🙂

    And yup – the fact that Neela went for it is part of what I meant last week about the “new and improved” self-aware Neela. Last weeks episode was apparently not completely nonsensical.

Leave a Reply

