Home > Person of Interest, TV > Person of Interest s2 ep 11

Person of Interest s2 ep 11

Less Man in the Suit, more Man in the Orange Jumpsuit, as Reese spends this week’s POI hanging out at Rikers and sitting out of the action, while Carter and her wig-of-the-week (no one has this many new hairdos) run around breaking all sorts of laws to try and protect him. It must be love (love, love), surely? SQUEE!

With his go-to-guy and gal otherwise tied up, then, Finch takes the lead on the Number of the Week: a teenage boy lugging around a load of secrets. Because this is tv, he’s also a teenage boy who conveniently mirrors Finch himself in a number of key respects – I mean, who among us isn’t a reclusive, world-changing computer genius blaming himself for the loss of a loved one? – but the story still manages several surprising twists, Michael Emerson is superb, and putting Dr Linus in a classroom again is a lovely nod to the show that made his name in the first place.

Plenty to like then – the Pi scene in particular was disconcertingly moving – and this was a very good episode, but I have a confession to make: I think I would’ve liked “2 Pi R” better if Reese hadn’t been offscreen for most of it. I know, I know. There are waxworks more animated than our hero and I criticise him for it more than most, but it’s a very different show without the big, blank-faced brawn of the operation striding around. A show I still enjoyed – a change is nice every now and again – but I kinda missed the big guy. Come on Carter, love, let’s get him out of jail soon, eh? Reese and I are counting on you.

  1. Ace_Of_Wands
    April 5, 2014 at 10:36 am

    This is the side of the show I prefer. Surveillance society and numbers – what’s not to like? I presume Finch is Super Hacker. The Pi segment was excellent, and I was as engaged as the ghetto kids. More engaged with the show than I have been for a while.

    Even the IT teacher was a good guy. Meanwhile the DNA exchange segment was a bit silly, but Fusco is playing a blinder. Stay in prison for a while, Reese, you big lug.

  2. April 5, 2014 at 1:38 pm

    I was almost in tears at the Pi bit. At maths! Maybe there was something in my eye ;-) I loved that the IT teacher turned out to be a good guy as well. And yes, Finch has to be Super Hacker. But I find Fusco a bit boring now tbh. That scene where the transit cop told him the true story was terrific, but that was mainly because of the transit cop himself – he only had a couple of minutes, but I thought he was great.

    Is the Orange Mobile guy playing Carter or is he the worst Agent in the history of Agents? How on earth can a man so apparently paranoid about Reese having outside help not have checked her recent activities/ call logs/ computers, had her followed or checked the numerous times she must’ve been caught on CCTV with the Man in the Suit (there was a scene last week where she and the bold Reese were standing right in front of a camera shooting the breeze for ages) before offering her a job on his super Task Force? And now to say she’s the only one he trusts? I almost laughed out loud at that. Have you SEEN the way she looks at one of your suspects, dude?

  3. Jed Bartlet
    April 16, 2014 at 9:59 pm

    Very good. Very good indeed. No dog, no self-conscious “humour”, just straightforward Person of Interest. Actually, I didn’t think the episode suffered from a lack of Reese, because it was otherwise so strong.

    I’m sure I must be the gazillionth person to say this – I haven’t looked online – but was there a reference to another TV show in there? Finch pretended to be a substitute teacher. Michael Emerson played Ben Linus as a teacher in a Lost flash-sideways. Lost, of course, had a habit of naming characters after philosophers. And the teacher Finch was covering for in this episode? Mrs Bentham…

  4. April 16, 2014 at 10:09 pm

    Jed Bartlet :

    I’m sure I must be the gazillionth person to say this – I haven’t looked online – but was there a reference to another TV show in there? Finch pretended to be a substitute teacher. Michael Emerson played Ben Linus as a teacher in a Lost flash-sideways

    Well yes, that’s what I meant when I said it was a nod to the show that made Emerson’s name in the first place. It was so overt I’m sure it had to be deliberate.

  5. Jed Bartlet
    April 17, 2014 at 12:00 am

    The use of a philosopher’s name was what made it a specifically Lost-ian reference, in my view.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

