Home > Public Service Announcements, The Bridge, TV > Public Service Announcement 19 of 2012: The Bridge (Bron/Broen); Smash; 2 Broke Girls

Public Service Announcement 19 of 2012: The Bridge (Bron/Broen); Smash; 2 Broke Girls

The latest high-profile Scanda-crime import hits our screens this weekend, with the UK debut of Bron/Broen (The Bridge), a Danish/Swedish co-production which starts with a dead body being found on the Øresund Bridge linking Denmark and Sweden. Saga Norén (Sofia Helin) is your obsessive, maladjusted cop this time. Advance word is good, and Unpopcult is trusting it, so will be running reviews as soon as we can get them up. Inevitably, it’s being shown in those idiotic two hour long double-bills, about which I’ve already said my piece here. And here. And here (Saturday 21 April, 9pm, BBC 4).

On the same night, Glee-for-adults musical drama Smash starts its UK run. A decent cast includes Jack Davenport, Debra Messing, and Anjelica Huston, all trying to put together an original musical about Marilyn Monroe. After a very well-received pilot the consensus of opinion, judging from my Twitter feed, is that it’s gone downhill but people can’t quite stop watching. I suspect that my solution to this will be to not watch it to start with. In any event it’s been renewed for a second season (Saturday 21 April, 10pm, Sky Atlantic).

And finally some new comedy tonight, with the first episode of American hit 2 Broke Girls, about two waitresses, one sassy and one posh, who are saving up to start their own cupcake business. Unusually for a network comedy it’s provoked controversy, with accusations of racism and misogyny. Whatever the truth of that, it’s also been renewed for a second season, so it’s worth getting invested if you like the look of it (tonight, 9pm, E4).

  1. April 19, 2012 at 10:14 am

    I have not watched Smash but somehow it keeps ending up on my screen in the background when I do computer things, with the sound muted. Based on that and the reviews I have read about the place, I think you are making the right call on this one.

    There is something about the two female leads, they are very look-at-able. :)

  2. Kay20
    April 19, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    I have been really enjoying Smash. The two female leads are interesting and not just caricatures (though McPhee’s character needs some more work), the surrounding cast is phenomenal, and the show doesn’t dumb it down for people. It’s a soapy drama that’s fun to watch, and fun to listen to, as long as you like the heroines. And make no mistake, it’s heroine time. Worth a watch.

    Meanwhile, I couldn’t make it past the first 15 minutes of 2 Broke Girls cheesy schmaltz. It was terrible. Apparently the later episodes are MUCH better, but the first is so heavy handed and cliched, no thanks.

  3. e
    April 19, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    Smash is deeply, deeply awful. I tune in religiously each week. I cannot stop watching the train wreck. Can’t wait to watch along with you.

    Basically, it’s all about Borle & Davenport for me. The two leads are…well, they’re on the screen.

    The writing is a mess, the characters are horrible, the music is mostly awful (with a few really really good songs) but I. Can’t. Stop. Watching.

    • Kay20
      April 20, 2012 at 8:29 am

      I don’t think it’s that bad. I think Ivy is as interesting as the others, but McPhee’s character needs more work. Though I suppose she is supposed to be squeaky clean. Anjelica Houston is downright awesome and puts the rest to shame imo.

      Writing for me is good, (most) characters are good (minus the assistant, who I can’t stand)…it’s just trashy. No problem with that. :)

  4. Jed Bartlet
    April 20, 2012 at 11:00 am

    OK. I need to see at least one, although if e’s comments are right that’ll just be a gateway drug.

  5. April 20, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    I’m pretty sure it will drive me crazy, but if everyone else has seen it …. ok, count me in for the Smash pilot anyway.

    Nothing could persuade me to watch 2 Broke Girls though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

