Home > Glee, TV > Glee s2 ep 13

Glee s2 ep 13

In ‘Comeback’, this week’s Sue blah blah Will blah blah bringing down glee club plot has Sue becoming an informal member of the club for a week, in an attempt to cure her of depression. But she’s faking! To try and bring glee club down! Who would have thought it, apart from every viewer? This leads to perhaps the most catastrophically misjudged Glee scene since ‘Imagine‘. I really don’t want to write about it, so I won’t, but if you were watching you know the one I mean. And it’s not the oddly tasteless pretend “Sue-icide”. Given that I don’t want to talk about Justin Bieber either, there isn’t much left to say about this episode. Oh yeah – kids fell in and out of love, and despite the writers trying to make Sam into an attractive character they haven’t. After last week’s triumph this wasn’t great at all.

That Scene does, however, flag up the problem that the writers have with finding something for Sue to do. Last season, it will be recalled, she was inserted into shot-for-shot remakes of music videos. This season, she’s behaving like someone with multiple personality disorder: in this episode she went from a tantrum to That Scene without anyone saying “Sue, you’re acting oddly”. I’ve already conceded that expecting Glee to have a relationship to the real world is optimistic, but just a little bit of consistency would be nice.

The music was poor this week as well. In addition to B****r songs there was an attempt to make something of a My Chemical Romance track which didn’t come off. Runner-up this week was Lauren Zizes’s take on ‘I Know What Boys Like’, which at least had humour and a little heart. The clear winner, though, was Mercedes and Rachel’s diva-off to ‘Take Me Or Leave Me’ from ‘Rent'; those ladies can sing, and they showed it yet again.

Categories: Glee, TV
  1. April 8, 2011 at 11:45 am

    Gosh, I’m really struggling to identify “that scene”. I wonder if that’s because a) I didn’t think it was that wrong; b) I didn’t think it was that wrong in the context of an episode of Glee; or c) I’ve completely blanked it from my memory.

    Oh, I’ve just read the plot on Wikipedia. THAT scene. It’s a good job that I fast forward through all the singing bits.

    I’m rapidly coming to the conclusion that I should stop leaving comments on Glee. There’s so much that I don’t like about it, that it’s becoming a bit ludicrous. The show remains light-hearted and snarky enough for me to stick with it for now, as a untaxing Monday night watch, but I’m making myself look a moron by completely picking it apart every week.

  2. Jed Bartlet
    April 8, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    What does that make me for writing about it each week, Sherb? Eh?!

    I do sometimes wonder if I’m a bit hard on it: I willingly watch it, and most of the time I quite like it. This week felt like a parody of Glee, though.

  3. Jed Bartlet
    April 8, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    Meant to say – it would have been interesting indeed had the identity of That Scene not been apparent.

  4. Olive
    April 8, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    I think I know the scene you mean, Jed. I mean, WTF, seriously?!

    I’m sure the Bieber overdose was just what teenage girls needed but the only emotions that girlish boy stirs in me is the desire to give him a bloody good haircut. Oh, and to gag him.

    So many scenes just didn’t work for me and the problem is inconsistency, as you say, Jed. I don’t mind its divorce from reality but a little consistency would be nice. Even the Diva-off left me cold. The facial contortions meant to convey passion are all well and good on a stage but not with a camera up your nose, Lea. Tone it down a tad (although the nod to that during one of the other scenes did amuse me a little. At least they’re aware of it….).

    Didn’t love it, didn’t hate it but was mostly just bored by it.

  5. April 8, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    I despised THAT SCENE. I almost switched it off. Again. Shamelessly, insultingly, manipulatively offensive – it reminded me of Imagine, too, which I actually really liked the first time, but now am thinking it’s almost the same and therefore I must hate it in hindsight.

    The rest wasn’t dreadful, but mostly kind of boring as Olive says. I did have a good laugh at the Bieber business (note: laugh, not scream, because I’m not 12, writers) with the haircuts and whatnot, I enjoyed the scene where Rachael did her diva tutoring and I enjoyed the Diva-off too, but I agree the problem is inconsistency. And the fact that the Sue thing is completely played out. It can’t be a coincidence that last week’s much better episode didn’t feature Sue at all.

    Also, can Quinn and Sam move school? They suck.

    And, Sherb, you’re not a moron! We’re all in the same boat – we keep watching because we’re fond of the show, but we absolutely have to criticise it because a) it deserves it and b) we know how good it can be so it’s frustrating when it’s not and c) it’s good to talk (whichever phone network you’re on ;-))

  6. April 8, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Ok, I’m confused again. Can we clarify whether “that scene” is the one in the hospital? That’s what I thought it was, but now I’m not so sure.

    Jed, the difference with you writing about it every week is that you still pick out the good things in the show – I merely seem to criticise. Thanks, CJ, it’s nice to be reassured of my lack of moronity.

    The Glee guys copying Bieber was fairly amusing, but a) it was just weird when Finn did it and didn’t ring true and b) it’s so obvious that the female cast are all in their mid-twenties that it seemed weird they would be impressed by Bieber-clones.

    I agree with you all: it’s OK to set yourself up having no relation to reality, but you have to be internally consistent within the world you’ve created. They’re clearly not achieving that, this season. CJ, you’re so right about Sue being done. She’s been flogged to death so that she’s just become boring. She’s now the coach of a Glee club in another school, a week after being reprimanded for trying to fire a pupil out of a cannon. Ok, whatever.

    It’s not just Sue, either. They have a few strands that they like to resurrect every few weeks – interspersed by gimmick episodes – and they should just move on. I assume that Terri will be making a comeback next week.

    I don’t know how it’s doing ratings-wise in the U.S., I get the impression that it’s still doing well. I think maybe it’s mid-shark jump for us older viewers, but still doing the business for younger viewers.

  7. Jed Bartlet
    April 8, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    Yup, the one in the hospital.

    As for US ratings: yes, still doing absolutely fine, and it was given a two-season renewal deal during its first season, so there will be at least a third season, with teenagers as convincing as Henry Winkler was.

  8. Kay20
    April 9, 2011 at 7:02 am

    I didn’t find this episode as offensive as the rest of you, but I did find it slow going. What I did like was Sue finding a new purpose though – having her focus on cheerleading day in day out was going to be boring. So Ioved the change of direction.

    And Lea Michele was made to do Firework – nice.

    I don’t mind Sam/Quinn, they just kinda fade into the wallpaper for me. Meanwhile though Tina just drives me kinda nuts.

  9. April 9, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    I so agree about Tina, Kay. Argh.

    On the plus side, Rachel does seem to be on her way back to being her best now she’s split up with Finn. She’s definitely closer to season 1 Rachel now, rather than the insecure, possessive banshee she was when she was with him. Is that because the writing has been better since they broke up, or are the writers underlining that she is better off away from him and concentrating on herself – hence all that chat last week about how she should be single and not tied to Lima by Finn or anyone else?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

