Home > No Ordinary Family, TV > No Ordinary Family ep 3

No Ordinary Family ep 3

“I know how much time you spend worrying about my powers.  I just thought we should spend a little time enjoying them, too.”

Well said, Jim Powell.  Shame then that the promised enjoyment was limited to a stupendously corny rooftop dinner scene for him and his mrs.  A scene which might have worked if they had a) dialogue that didn’t make me want to throw up and b) any chemistry whatsoever together.  But they didn’t and they don’t.  I got heaps more enjoyment out of watching George try and teach Jim to dance – now that was funny.

Funny enough to keep me watching though?  I don’t know.  For all its flaws, this episode was miles better than the first two and confounded me slightly as a result – should I stick with it or not?  After all, George is great and this week’s robberies (at weddings, not banks, this time, variety being the spice of life) were actually quite exciting, even if the plot was full of holes.  (The police force don’t have enough men to cover all the high society weddings likely to be targeted, but Jim and George can manage them all? The robbers very obligingly bring the loot they’ve already scored from one wedding with them to the next one, in case, oh, I don’t know, Jim needs to get his wife’s stolen ring back?  Come on.) 

But, setting aside the been-there-seen-that-stuck-with-it-through-four-seasons-to-the-bitter-end issue for now, a fundamental problem with the show is still the Family itself.  All they did AGAIN this week was bicker about having their powers, and which of them should use those powers and who they can tell about those powers and blah blah blah woe is me blah blah blah powers.  Shut UP, all of you.

So the Powells still suck.  Will they improve?  I don’t know.  But, like I said, this episode was better.  So I’m undecided.  I might watch it again, I might not.  No great loss either way.

Categories: No Ordinary Family, TV
  1. e
    January 19, 2011 at 10:01 pm | #1

    I can’t decide if this show is like watching paint dry or having a dental extraction without anaesthesia. Either way? It’s all yours.

  2. January 19, 2011 at 11:44 pm | #2

    If the parents are on, the former, if the kids, the latter?

    George and the hiatus really would be the only reason I would watch it again. Maybe. There are shows with VAMPIRES on coming back very soon, after all….

    • e
      January 21, 2011 at 3:33 am | #3

      I’m not sure if I like the American Being Human (feels shot-by-shot too true to the original, and I’m not a big re-run fan), can’t wait for UK Being Human and am hoping the Vampire Diaries continues more strongly as the last few episodes have been a bit ho-hum, exposition-laden trials to watch.

      • January 21, 2011 at 8:59 pm | #4

        I haven’t seen the remake, e, but I agree with you on the re-run front. I don’t really want to see a copycat version of it – why mess with something that’s already so good?

        Not long to wait now, though…PSA duly up!

  3. e
    January 24, 2011 at 2:21 pm | #5

    It’s back and it’s still wonderful. And who knew how much I missed Robson Green even if I didn’t know that I did…

  4. January 24, 2011 at 8:16 pm | #6

    Review now up. And squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers

