Home > Heroes, TV > Heroes s3 ep2

Heroes s3 ep2

Ewww.

By rights I should have loved this week’s Heroes just as much as episode 1.  It might have been a little slower, but it was still pretty darn action-packed.  Mama Petrelli was ace, Bruce “Babylon 5/Scarecrow & Mrs King” Boxleitner guest-starred, and there was a lot of interesting, cool stuff going on. 

And while I’m not too delighted about some of the roads the story is going down, I did like the episode, I really did, but, unfortunately, a particularly horrible image from this week’s shenanigans is now burned in my brain and it’s put me right off.

No, I don’t mean the horrible bit when new-flame-thrower guy immolated some hapless no-name, and someone – who’s usually heroic first and logical later, mind – stood back and did nothing about it. (Shame on you!) 

And no, I don’t mean the other horrible bit where someone else’s skin started flaking off (no names, no spoilers) in nicely gruesome if highly derivative fashion.

No, no, I mean the really horrible bit where the two most annoying characters in the history of television stripped off and………well, you know the rest, or you can guess it.  Did we have to see that? Did we?  

Bleuch.

Categories: Heroes, TV
  1. Dona Hunt
    October 8, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Randy Mohinder was thoroughly disturbing.

  2. Capt. Harold Dobey
    October 9, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Go Mo! That’s not Hero DNA. He’s been down to Holland and Barrett for some Maca.

  3. Dona Hunt
    October 10, 2008 at 8:18 am

    *Shudder*

  4. Peanuts
    October 10, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    I know. I’m totally freaked out by Mohinder – and also strangely troubled that I keep looking at the screen when he’s on and thinking ‘die, die character, die – or leave the show.. start a new one if you have to (which I won’t watch) but just get OFF Heroes!’ This is surely horribly uncharitable of me and I do feel awfully bad about the whole thing. I’m going to call it Mohinder-aneousness.

    Yet, and here’s the double whammy…I feel the same way about that she-cretin Mohinder stripped off with. First of all, why introduce sex scenes in series 3?? And secondly, why, why, why with those two!?! Argh!

    I can’t understand why, when every other character is really quite watchable, the producers can’t see how awful these two are. If nothing else, they are creating oodles of catholic guilt amongst the population, surely, who want them to go? I can barely live with the little chewed up meanie I turn into (in true ‘Villan’ type manner -ooh, maybe that’s the point?) when those two appear on the screen…

    Ahem, returning to sanity now… other than that I loved the episode. But was a wee bit scared. Sorry to be a wuss but were the other series this, um, frightening?

  5. CJ Cregg
    October 10, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Aw, don’t be so hard on yourself Peanuts. It’s ok to dislike tv characters (in fact it’s positively encouraged here) – I would only feel bad if we started to wish ill on the actors. And I don’t wish them ill, I just wish them OFF MY SHOW.

    I wasn’t scared, exactly, but I do think they have stepped up the darkness quotient a little this year. I guess they really want to underline the “villains” theme. The Claire/Sylar thing was gruesome in ep 1 and the immolation scene in ep 2 was horrific, and then Peter basically did nothing at all to at least try and dissuade the flame-thrower guy, which actually bothered me even more. This is Peter who jumped off a building to save Claire before he knew her and before he knew he would regenerate. And suddenly his response to killing folk is “Guys, what’s this all about? Oh, Ok then, no problem.” Bizarre.

  6. Capt. Harold Dobey
    October 10, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    It did seem a bit strange that he spent most of an episode shouting – I’m Peter, let me out! Now he’s still hanging with his Level 5 buds.

    Hey, I know, let’s split up – should have been the phrase of the day when they hit whatever level is the exit.

    I don’t wish ill on any actor, but as Joe McFadden can’t actually act…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

